IEEE Honors Leaders In Technology

Annual ceremony awards engineers advancing their field

26 June 2013

Each year, IEEE honors the top minds in technology at its annual Honors Ceremony.  It’s a night to recognize technical professionals throughout engineering disciplines for their achievements and contributions to technology, society, and the engineering profession.

The ceremony will be held on 29 June, in San Diego to honor 22 recipients that include educators, scientists, innovators, and visionaries. IEEE President and CEO, Peter Staecker, will serve as Master of Ceremonies. This year’s theme is “Accelerating Advances.” Here we highlight the work of some of the recipients.

Member Robert Langer
IEEE Medal For Innovations In Healthcare Technology

Named by Forbes magazine as one of the 25 most important individuals in biotechnology in the world, and as one of 15 innovators who will reinvent our future, Langer is being recognized “for pioneering and innovative therapies using micro- and nanoengineering approaches and biomaterials to tissue engineering, drug delivery, and cancer therapeutics.”

Langer is the founder of more than a dozen biotech companies and holds over 800 patents. He is considered a pioneer in controlled release systems and transdermal delivery systems, which allows the administration of drugs or extraction of certain chemicals from the body through the skin without needles or other invasive methods. He is also recognized for advancing tissue engineering. Langer is a David H. Koch Institute Professor, the highest honor given to an MIT faculty member, and is the 1998 recipient of the Lemelson-MIT prize, the world’s largest prize for invention, for being “one of history’s most prolific inventors in medicine.”

Life Fellow J. David Irwin
IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal

One of the world’s longest-serving department heads of an electrical and computer engineering program, Irwin has led the Electrical Engineering Department at Auburn University, in Alabama, since 1973. He is well known in the field for authoring undergraduate-level textbooks, including “Electric Circuit Analysis” and “Introduction To Electrical Engineering,” which are used in engineering colleges around the world, as well as books on how to plan a career in engineering. Irwin receives the medal  “for excellence in engineering education through creative and enduring leadership and innovative textbooks.”

Fellow Michael Wicks
IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications

Senior scientist for Sensor Signal Processing at the Air Force Research Laboratory, based in Rome, N.Y., Wicks is being honored “for leadership and developments in fully adaptive radar, advanced space-time adaptive processing, knowledge-based signal processing, and waveform diversity.” He specializes in surveillance, precision engagement, and electronic warfare technology. His work includes developing concepts in signal processing for the detection, tracking, identification, and control of distributed sensor systems.

This year’s IEEE Medal of Honor recipient is Life Fellow Irwin Mark Jacobs, the founding chairman and chief executive emeritus of Qualcomm, Inc., where he helped advance modern digital communications, including advances in 3-G wireless communications system.  The award, IEEE’s highest, is presented to those who have made exceptional contributions to science and technology that benefit humankind.  Watch Jacobs accept his award earlier this month.

To watch the IEEE Honors Ceremony live, tune in on Saturday 5:30 p.m.  PDT at

Photo: IEEE

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More