Volunteers Honored for Their Contributions to Member and Geographic Activities

14 awards bestowed

4 January 2017

The IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board has given 14 volunteer awards. They recognize, reward, and promote the members’ excellence in MGA operations and in the activities of IEEE’s many entities including regions, geographic councils and areas, sections, chapters, student branches, and affinity groups.


Sampathkumar Veeraraghavan (Region 1)

Boston Section

For inspiring leadership and pioneering contributions to IEEE global activities that motivate, connect, and engage members around the world.


Mary Ellen Randall (Region 3)

Eastern North Carolina Section

For pioneering, championing, and developing the MOVE [MObile VEhicle] Community Outreach Program, a comprehensive IEEE program for member engagement providing disaster relief and STEM education.


Yousu Chen (Region 6)

Seattle Section

For outstanding service to IEEE through distinguished leadership in IEEE activities at the local, regional, and national levels, increasing member engagement and enhancing collaboration.

Edward G. Perkins (Region 6)

Oregon Section

For distinguished leadership and outstanding contributions at the section, region, national, and global levels, serving IEEE, IEEE members, and the engineering profession.

Celia Shahnaz (Region 10)

Bangladesh Section

For leadership in engineering and technology-driven innovative IEEE Women in Engineering activities for enhanced membership development and engagement in Region 10 and across the globe.


IEEE Region 8 Action for Industry (AFI) Committee

For planning and implementing the Action for Industry Initiative, which has successfully increased member engagement and strengthened the relationship with industry in Region 8.

Nasim Farahini (Region 8)

Sweden Section

For outstanding contributions in promoting student activities, and for establishing and reinforcing the network of women engineers in the IEEE Sweden Section.

Shaikh A. Fattah (Region 10)

Bangladesh Section

For dynamic leadership in achieving rapid transformation of the IEEE Bangladesh Section into a vibrant large section by ensuring maximum member engagement through innovative activities.

Guadalupe G. Gonzalez (Region 9)

Panama Section

For outstanding contributions to IEEE Power & Energy Society and IEEE Women in Engineering activities in Panama and Latin America.

B. Satyanarayana (Region 10)

Bombay (India) Section

For elevating and enhancing IEEE member engagement through innovative technical activities, notably SKEP (Skill and Knowledge Enhancement Program) and IBSS (IEEE Bombay Section Symposium).


Shahim Baker (Region 10)

Kerala (India) Section

For outstanding contributions to IEEE and IEEE Young Professionals, providing inspiring leadership to the community, and assisting in member skill development.

Preeti S. Kovvali (Region 10)

Hyderabad (India) Section

For leadership, enthusiasm, and dedication toward IEEE Young Professionals and IEEE Women in Engineering to achieve MGA goals and strategies.

Hussain Falih Mahdi (Region 10)

Malaysia Section

For exemplary leadership and contributions to student and IEEE Young Professional activities, and for continuous efforts supporting the technical and professional development of IEEE members.

Nivas Ravichandran (Region 10)

Madras (India) Section

For exceptional achievement and outstanding contributions to IEEE Young Professional members across Asia Pacific as the young professionals coordinator for Region 10.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More