Day Wins Race for President-Elect

IEEE members have chosen Gordon W. Day to be 2011 president-elect

7 March 2011
Gordon W. Day
Photo: May Trong

IEEE Life Fellow Gordon W. Day is the 2011 president-elect, having received 27 615 votes in the 2010 IEEE election. The runner-up, Senior Member Joseph V. Lillie, garnered 17 341 votes.

Day begins his term as IEEE president on 1 January 2012, succeeding 2011 president Moshe Kam.

Day, who had been the 2009 IEEE-USA president, is retired. He was a researcher and manager at the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), in Boulder, Colo., for 33 years, until 2003. His research there focused on optoelectronics, including fundamental physical measurements, standards for optical fiber, and the development of new types of instrumentation. In 1994, he founded and became the first chief of the NIST Optoelectronics Division.

After leaving NIST, Day served as science adviser to Senator Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) on an IEEE-USA congressional fellowship, and later he was director of government relations for the Optoelectronics Industry Development Association. He also worked as a consultant, specializing in optoelectronics technology and science policy. Day has held various IEEE positions, including president (in 2000) of the IEEE Photonics Society.

For all the election results, see "And the 2010 Winners Are...".

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More