José M.F. Moura Is 2018 IEEE President-Elect

The annual election results are in

9 October 2017

IEEE Life Fellow José M.F. Moura has been chosen as 2018 IEEE president-elect. He will begin serving as IEEE president on 1 January 2019. Moura, who was nominated by petition as a candidate, received 18,883 votes in the election. Fellow Vincenzo Piuri garnered 13,976 votes, and Life Fellow Jacek M. Zurada received 12,879.

The results are unofficial until the IEEE Tellers Committee report is accepted by the IEEE Board of Directors in November.

Moura is the Philip L. and Marsha Dowd University Professor in the electrical and computer engineering department at Carnegie Mellon. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Inventors, a corresponding member of the Portugal Academy of Sciences, and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He holds 14 patents and helped invent a detector found in more than 3 billion hard disk drives, which is in 60 percent of all computers sold in the past 10 years. His technology has been licensed by Intel and Siemens, among others.

Moura was the 2016 vice president of IEEE Technical Activities and is a former member of the IEEE Board of Directors.

To find out who was chosen as IEEE-USA president-elect, IEEE Standards Association president–elect, and more, read the full annual election results.

This article has been updated.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More