Staecker Wins Race For IEEE President-Elect

Peter W. Staecker to be 2012 president-elect

10 October 2011
read Photo: Robert Bachrach

The election results are in—Life Fellow Peter W. Staecker has been elected IEEE’s 2012 president-elect. Pending acceptance of the Teller’s Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors on 20 and 21 November, Staecker will begin serving as IEEE president on 1 January 2013.

He received 21 406 votes in this year’s election. The runner-up, Fellow Roger Pollard, garnered 17 341 votes.

Staecker is retired and has 26 years of experience in microwave design. He joined MIT Lincoln Laboratory, in Lexington, Mass., in 1972, where he designed microwave devices and circuits and developed measurement techniques for their application to satellite communications. He left in 1986 to join M/A-COM in Burlington, Mass., to develop microwave and millimeter-wave technology, retiring as director of R&D in 1998.

Staecker was vice president of IEEE Technical Activities, in 2007. He was director of IEEE Division IV from 2001 to 2002, as well as vice president and president of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, in 1992 and 1993. He also was IEEE treasurer from 2009 to 2010 and a member of several IEEE committees, including Governance and Investment. He currently chairs the Individual Benefits and Services Committee.

To find out who was elected as IEEE Standards Association president-elect, IEEE-USA president-elect and more, read the full IEEE annual election results.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More