13 Volunteers Are Honored for Outstanding Leadership and Humanitarian Efforts

IEEE Member and Geographic Activities bestows its annual awards

25 January 2016

The IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board has given awards to 13 volunteers. The awards recognize, reward, and promote the members’ excellence in MGA operations and in the activities of IEEE’s many entities including regions, geographic councils and areas, sections, chapters, student branches, and student branch chapters.


Amarnath Raja (Region 10)

Kerala (India) Section

For significant contributions to global IEEE humanitarian activities and member engagement, conceptualizing and creating the IEEE Special Interest Group on Humanitarian Technology (SIGHT) program and helping spread it as a channel for engineers working together to bring the benefits of technology to the entire world.


Loretta Arellano (Region 6)

San Fernando Valley (California) Section

For exemplary innovation and leadership in leading the development of the MGA Volunteer Leadership Training program.


Mario Alejandro Aleman (Region 9)

Nicaragua Section

For inspiring leadership in enabling and connecting IEEE volunteers across Latin America in community-based appropriate technology projects that have resulted in outreaching and helping over a hundred underserved communities.

Edward M. Aoki (Region 6)

Santa Clara Valley (California) Section

For many years of service to the IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section and IEEE San Francisco Bay Area Council, and tireless contributions to the fiscal stability of the section, many of its chapters, and the IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference.

Timothy T. Wong (Region 10)

Western Australia Section

For outstanding leadership and volunteer contributions to humanitarian and membership activities across IEEE, but especially in the Asia Pacific region.


E-Scientia Project Team (Region 10)

Kerala (India) Section

For engaging members and promoting science, technology, and IEEE among preuniversity students through a hands-on science center exhibit intended to engage students with engineering and technology and raise awareness about careers in these disciplines.

AKM Abdul Malek Azad (Region 10)

Bangladesh Section

For initiating and leading the successful IEEE volunteer-led project in Bangladesh to help solve the local electricity crisis by bringing hybrid solar rickshaw technology to the local manufacturing industry, as part of BRAC University Special Interest Group on Humanitarian Technology (SIGHT).

Min Chen (Region 9)

Panama Section

For service and achievements in promoting IEEE Women in Engineering through affinity group activities and programs such as the STAR Panama preuniversity outreach.

J.Vincent Jain (Region 10)

Madras (India) Section

For cofounding the IEEE Artisanal Deep Sea Fishers SIGHT, leading innovative and noble IEEE member-led engagements using appropriate technology solutions to help the deep sea fishers community in Southern India.


Edhem Custovic (Region 10)

Victorian (Australia) Section

For outstanding contributions to the IEEE Young Professionals program in the IEEE Victorian Section.

Nipun Manral (Region 10)

Bangalore (India) Section

For exemplary leadership and contribution towards student and young professional activities and for continuous efforts to elevate the technical and professional development of IEEE members.

Tushar Sharma (Region 7)

Southern Alberta (Canada) Section

For outstanding efforts to promote young professional member engagement and development by promoting IEEE MGA goals and strategies through activities and programs at the chapter, society, section, and region levels.

Rafal Sliz (Region 8)

Finland Section

For outstanding volunteer development and member-focused contributions to the IEEE Finland Section, Region 8, and IEEE Young Professionals.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More