Achievements: April 2012

The following IEEE members recently were recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

30 April 2012

Fauchet Photo: University of Rochester

IEEE Fellow Philippe Fauchet was named dean of the School of Engineering at Vanderbilt University, in Nashville. He assumes his new role on 1 July.

Fauchet currently is chair of the electrical and computer engineering department and a professor of materials science and biomedical engineering at the University of Rochester, in New York, and a senior scientist at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics in Rochester, where his research has dealt with semiconductor physics, materials sciences, and optics.

Fauchet is a member of the IEEE Photonics Society.

smith Photo: The Harbari Network

Member Judy L. Smith has been appointed to the Women in Aerospace (WIA) board of directors. Based in Washington, D.C., WIA is dedicated to expanding women’s leadership opportunities and visibility in the aerospace field.

Smith is vice president of business development for ITT Exelis, an aerospace, technology, and security company, in McLean, Va.

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies.

Green Photo: IEEE

Member William Green received the IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award. The annual award recognizes an individual 35 years of age or younger who has made outstanding technical contributions to photonics. Green, a Photonics Society member, was honored for “contributions in CMOS integrable, highly scaled, silicon nanophotonics, and [for] pioneering silicon nanophotonics for mid-infrared applications and non-linear optics.”

He is a researcher at IBM’s Thomas J. Watson Research Center, in Yorktown Heights, N.Y., where he helped develop low-power, high-density CMOS-integrated silicon nanophotonic transceivers for high-performance computing platforms.

jain Photo: Queen’s University

Fellow Praveen Jain received the William E. Newell Power Electronics Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society. He was recognized for “advancements in the theory and practice of high-frequency power conversion systems.”

Jain is a professor of electrical engineering and director of the Center for Energy and Power Electronics Research at Queen’s University, in Kingston, Ont., Canada. There he helped develop high-frequency power conversion systems and methods for telecommunications, computing, and aerospace applications. He also founded Sparq Systems, a company in Kingston that develops microinverters for photovoltaic systems.

He is a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems, Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, and Power Electronics societies.

Ooi Photo: National University of Singapore

Fellow Beng Chin Ooi received the IEEE Computer Society’s 2012 Tsutomu Kanai Award. The annual award honors an engineer who has made major contributions to distributed computing systems and their applications. Ooi, a Computer Society member, was recognized for “pioneering research in distributed database management and peer-to-peer based enterprise quality management.”

He is director of the Interactive Digital Media Institute at the National University of Singapore, where his research interests include database system architectures and cloud-based database systems and applications. He is also editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More