Achievements: April 2013

The following IEEE members were recently recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

26 April 2013

Sixteen IEEE members are among 68 engineers elected this year as full members or foreign associates to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education or to the literature. The new NAE members are:

Senior Member Anant Agarwal of MIT; Life Fellow Murty P. Bhavaraju of PJM Interconnection, Norristown, Pa.; Fellow Robert S. Chau of Intel Corp., Hillsboro, Ore.; Fellow David L. Dill of Stanford University; Fellow Abbas El Gamal of Stanford University; Fellow Eric R. Fossum of Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.; Affiliate Member Maurice Herlihy of Brown University, Providence, R.I.; Fellow John E. Kelly III of IBM, Yorktown Heights, N.Y.; Fellow Vijay Kumar of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Fellow Raphael C. Lee of the University of Chicago; Life Fellow José M. F. Moura of Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh; Fellow Richard M. Murray of Caltech; Fellow Thomas J. Overbye of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Senior Member Robin Podmore of IncSys Inc., Bellevue, Wash.; Fellow Shlomo Shamai (Shitz) of Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa; and Senior Member Ji Zhou of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Beijing.

achieveJuodawlkis Photo: MIT

Senior Member Paul Juodawlkis was named a Fellow of the Optical Society of America. He was recognized for “significant contributions to optically sampled analog-to-digital conversion and the development of the slab-coupled optical waveguide amplifier,” a device that amplifies an optical signal directly without first converting it to an electrical signal.

Juodawlkis is the assistant leader of the electro-optical materials and devices group at MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Mass. His research interests include the development of optical sampling techniques for photonic analog-to-digital converters, and high-power waveguide photodiodes.

He is a member of the IEEE Photonics Society.

achieveTolbert Photo: University of Knoxville

The University of Knoxville, in Tennessee, has appointed IEEE Fellow Leon M. Tolbert head of its electrical engineering and computer science department.

A professor in the department, Tolbert's research interests include power systems, hybrid electric vehicles, renewable energy, and silicon carbide power electronics.

He is a member of the Industry Applications, Power & Energy, and Power Electronics societies. 

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies.

achieveColeman Photo: IEEE

The IEEE Photonics Society presented one of its members, James J. Coleman, with its 2013 John Tyndall Award. The award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology. Coleman was cited for “contributions to semiconductor lasers and photonic materials, processing, and device designs, including high-reliability strained-layer lasers.”

He is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. There, he led the first research group to define the ranges of wavelength, threshold current density, and reliability of 980-nanometer strained-layer lasers.

achieveSoffa Photo: IEEE

Senior Member Mary Lou Soffa received the Association for Computing Machinery-IEEE Computer Society’s Ken Kennedy Award. She was cited for “contributions to compiler technology and software engineering, exemplary service to the profession, and lifelong dedication to mentoring and improving diversity in computing.”

Sponsored by IEEE and the ACM, the award honors the memory of Kennedy, a pioneer in the field of high-performance computing.

Soffa is a professor of computer science at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville. A leading researcher in programming languages, she has developed several analytical and experimental models for understanding, predicting, and verifying the optimization of software. She has also designed tools for debugging and testing software to improve its operating efficiency.

In addition to her research, Soffa is on the board of the Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research, an organization dedicated to increasing the number of women participating in computer science and engineering research and education.

achieveTemkin Photo: IEEE

The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society presented one of its members, Fellow Richard J. Temkin, with its Plasma Science and Applications Award. He was cited for “fundamental contributions to the field of high-power gyrotrons and their application.” Gyrotrons are vacuum tubes that emit millimeter-wave beams by bunching together electrons with cyclotron-like motion in a strong magnetic field.

Temkin is head of the Waves and Beams Division of MIT’s Plasma Science and Fusion Center, Cambridge, Mass. He and his MIT team have designed and demonstrated a gyrotron microwave window, which is a dome-shaped window that can handle megawatts of continuous wave power.

Temkin is also a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation, Electron Devices, and Microwave Theory and Techniques societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More