Achievements: April 2015

The following IEEE members were recently recognized by other organizations

29 April 2015

Of the 79 engineers elected this year as members or foreign associates of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, 31 are IEEE members. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, education, or literature. The new NAE inductees from IEEE are:

Member Harry A. Atwater Jr. of Caltech; Member Hari Balakrishnan, MIT; Member Jonathan D. Bray, the University of California, Berkeley; Fellow Emery N. Brown, Harvard; Member Wesley G. Bush, Northrop Grumman, Falls Church, Va.; Fellow Anantha Chandrakasan, MIT; Fellow Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University, Durham, N.C.; Fellow Deepakraj M. Divan, Varentec, San Jose, Calif.; Fellow Eric D. Evans, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Mass.; Member Raymond J. Fonck, the University of Wisconsin, Madison; Fellow Tahir Ghani, Intel; Fellow Bernd Girod, Stanford; Fellow Dan M. Goebel, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif; Member Supratik Guha, IBM; Life Member Robert E. Henry, Fauske and Associates, Burr Ridge, Ill.; Fellow Thomas M. Jahns, the University of Wisconsin, Madison; Fellow Milan M. Jovanovic, Delta Products, Research Triangle Park, N.C.; Member Samir Mitragotri, University of California, Santa Barbara; Fellow Radia Perlman, EMC Corp., Hopkinton, Mass.; Fellow Rafael L. Reif, MIT; Fellow Daniela Rus, MIT; Member Graeme L. Stephens, Jet Propulsion Laboratory; Life Fellow Virginia C. Sulzberger, North American Reliability, Livingston, N.J.; Fellow Richard Szeliski, Microsoft; Life Fellow Gabor C. Temes, Oregon State University, Corvallis; Life Fellow Harry L. Van Trees, George Mason University, Fairfax, Va.; Member James J. Wynne, IBM; and Fellow David D. Yao, Columbia.

The new NAE foreign associates are:

Fellow Nelson Martins, the Brazilian Electric Energy Research Center, Rio de Janeiro; Fellow Ghavam Shahidi, IBM; and Fellow Martin Vetterli, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland.

Three IEEE members each received the 2014 National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government upon scientists and engineers. The award is administered by the National Science Foundation.

Life Fellow Thomas Kailath was cited for “the development of revolutionary methods for realistic fluid-flow simulation, now ubiquitous in the modeling and design of engines, aircraft wings, and heart valves, in the analysis of natural flows.” He is a professor emeritus in the engineering department at Stanford. 

Life Senior Member Eli Harari received the medal for the “invention and commercialization of flash storage technology to enable ubiquitous data in consumer electronics, mobile computing, and enterprise storage.” In 1988, he cofounded SanDisk Corp., a manufacturer of data storage devices, in Milpitas Calif., and served as its CEO until 2010.

Life Fellow Mary Shaw was honored for “pioneering leadership in the development of innovative curricula in computer science.” She is a professor of computer science at Carnegie Mellon University, in Pittsburgh. She is also a member of the IEEE Computer Society.

Senior Member Peter Raad received the Allan Kraus Thermal Management Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in thermal management of electronic systems and their commitment to the field of thermal science and engineering. He was honored for his research in deep-submicron metrology (the science of measurement), for developing methods to determine 3-D temperature fields in electronic devices, and for exemplary teaching and mentoring.

Raad is a professor of mechanical engineering at Southern Methodist University, in Dallas.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More