Achievements: August 2011

The following IEEE members were recognized recently for their work by other organizations and IEEE societies.

19 August 2011

ac_APC Photo: MIT

Fellow Anantha P. Chandrakasan was named head of MIT’s department of electrical engineering and computer science.

Previously, Chandrakasan was director of the institute’s Microsystems Technology Laboratories, where research focuses on circuits and systems, microelectromechanical systems, electronic and photonic devices, and nanotechnology.

He is a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society.

ac_SHJ Photo: Dewberry

Member Shahidul H. Joarder was promoted to department manager of mechanical, electrical, and plumbing services at Dewberry, an architectural and engineering consulting firm in New York City. He manages the department’s daily operations.

Previously, Joarder was a senior electrical engineer at the company, working on fire-alarm, public-address, telephone, intercom, and access-control systems.

ac_DM Photo: Rochester Institute of Technology

Member Don McPherson was appointed to the Electrical Engineering Program Advisory Board at the Rochester Institute of Technology, in New York. He is responsible for helping to define the program’s objectives, reviewing course content, recruiting faculty, and creating internship programs.

McPherson is a radio-frequency area manager at SRC (formerly Syracuse Research Corp.), an R&D company in North Syracuse, N.Y., that focuses on electronic systems.

He is a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society.

ac_JAO Photo: Worcester Polytechnic Institute

The American Society for Engineering Education presented IEEE Fellow John A. Orr with its 2011 Electrical and Computer Engineering Distinguished Educator Award. The annual prize is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the society and has had a positive impact on EE education.

Orr is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, in Massachusetts. As academic provost at WPI from 2008 to 2010, he created its first academic dean positions in arts and sciences, engineering, and business.

He is a member of the IEEE Education, Power & Energy, and Communications societies.

The IEEE Photonics Society presented awards to the following members:

ac_AMW Photo: Purdue University

Fellow Andrew M. Weiner received the IEEE Quantum Electronics Award. He was cited for “seminal contributions to ultrafast optical signal processing, including development of ultrashort pulse arbitrary waveform generation technology and its applications.”

Weiner is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University, in West Lafayette, Ind. He has done pioneering work in programmable femtosecond pulse shaping using liquid crystal modulator arrays for high-speed optical communications.

He also is a member of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society.

ac_AY Photo: Caltech

Life Fellow Amnon Yariv received the IEEE Photonics Award for his “fundamental contributions to photonics science, engineering, and education that have broadly impacted quantum electronics and light-wave communications.”

Yariv is a professor of applied physics and electrical engineering at Caltech. He has been researching and developing high-speed optical communications systems for more than 50 years. He and his research group at the institute’s Optical and Quantum Electronics Laboratory are credited with breakthroughs in distributed-feedback semiconductor lasers, integrated optoelectronic circuits, and external-cavity tunable semiconductor lasers.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.