Achievements: August 2012

The following IEEE members were recognized recently by other organizations and IEEE societies

27 August 2012

achieve_ilesanmi Photo: University of Illinois

Fellow Ilesanmi Adesida has been named vice chancellor for academic affairs and provost of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Adesida was previously dean of the university’s College of Engineering. Since 2001, he has served as director of its Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology. He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

achieve_arati Photo: SRI International

SRI International, a nonprofit scientific research institute, in Princeton, N.J., has named IEEE Fellow Arati Prabhakar to its board of directors.

Until last year, Prabhakar had worked for U.S. Venture Partners of Menlo Park, Calif. She is a member of the U.S. National Academies’ Science Technology and Economic Policy Board and the College of Engineering Advisory Board at the University of California, Berkeley.

achieve_ribeiro Photo: University of Pennsylvania

The University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia, presented IEEE Member Alejandro Ribeiro with its annual S. Reid Warren Jr. Award for “outstanding service in stimulating and guiding the intellectual and professional development of undergraduate students.”

Ribeiro is an assistant professor in the university’s department of electrical and systems engineering.

He is a member of the IEEE Communications and IEEE Signal Processing societies.

The IEEE Computer Society presented three of its members with the following awards:

achievearvind Photo: MIT

IEEE Fellow Arvind received the society’s 2012 Harry Goode Award for “fundamental contributions to research in dataflow computing, memory models, and cache coherence protocols.”

Arvind, who goes by a single name, is a professor of computer science and engineering at MIT, where he has contributed to the development of dynamic dataflow architectures, parallel programing languages, and parallel computing.

achievemolar Photo: MathWorks

IEEE Affiliate Member Cleve Moler was honored with the 2012 Computer Pioneer Award. A member of the society, he was recognized for “improving the quality of mathematical software, making it more accessible, and creating MATLAB.”

In 1984 Moler and Jack Little cofounded MathWorks, the company in Portola Valley, Calif., that developed MATLAB, a programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numerical computation.

achieve_roberts Photo: IEEE

IEEE Member Eric Roberts received the 2012 Taylor L. Booth Education Award. Roberts was honored for “contributions to computing education, as demonstrated by teaching excellence, education publications, curricula development, and student mentoring.”

He is a professor of computer science at Stanford University. Beginning in 1997, he directed the Bermuda Project, which involved developing the computer science curriculum for Bermuda’s public high schools.

He was cochair of the Association of Computing Machinery/IEEE Computer Society Joint Task Force on Computing Curricula, which published a detailed set of computer science curriculum guidelines in 2001.

Roberts is also a member of the IEEE Education Society.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More