Achievements: February 2012

The following IEEE members recently were recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

24 February 2012

diab Photo: IEEE

Senior Member Wael William Diab received the 2011 Innovator Award for Green Tech from Broadcom Corp., a semiconductor manufacturer of communications devices with headquarters in Irvine, Calif. He was recognized for his leadership in developing Broadcom’s energy-efficient networking technology, which uses the IEEE P802.3az Energy Efficient Ethernet Standard for low-power networks.

Diab is senior technical director at Broadcom and vice chair of the IEEE 802.3 Standard Working Group. He is also a member of the IEEE Standards Association, the IEEE Standards Education Committee and the IEEE Communications and Computer societies.

muralidharan Photo: Wireless Innovation Forum

Senior Member Raghavan Muralidharan was elected to the Wireless Innovation Forum’s board of directors. The forum is a nonprofit organization that fosters networking and collaboration among wireless technology researchers.

Muralidharan is a principal engineer at the strategic electronics division of Tata Power, an electric utility in Mumbai. He is responsible for designing and developing defense technology for the Indian government.

He is a member of the IEEE Communications and Computer societies.

Samueli Photo: Broadcom

Fellow Henry Samueli received the 2011 Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award from the Global Semiconductor Alliance. He was recognized for his exceptional contributions to the semiconductor industry. The award is named after the founder of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co., who was the 2011 IEEE Medal of Honor recipient.

Samueli is cofounder and chief technology officer of Broadcom Corp., a semiconductor manufacturer of communications devices in Irvine, Calif. He helped develop Broadcom’s first single-chip all-CMOS Bluetooth and Wi-Fi transceivers, as well as other high-performance radio frequency devices.

He is a member of the IEEE Standards Association.

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies.

Bowers Photo: IEEE

The IEEE Photonics Society presented its member John Bowers, an IEEE Fellow, with its 2012 John Tyndall Award. The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to optical-fiber technology. He was recognized for “pioneering research in hybrid-silicon lasers and photonic integrated circuits.”

Bowers is a professor in the electrical and computer engineering and materials departments at the University of California at Santa Barbara. He is director of the university’s Institute for Energy Efficiency.

Bowers also belongs to the IEEE Communications and Microwave Theories and Techniques societies.

obit_shaffer Photo: IEEE

IEEE Fellow Gérard-André Capolino received the IEEE Power Electronics Society’s 2011 Diagnostics Achievement Award for “outstanding sustained technical contributions and services in the field of monitoring and diagnostics for electrical machines, power electronics, and drives.”

Capolino is an electrical engineering professor at the University of Picardie Jules Verne, in Amiens, France, where he has helped develop new algorithms and test methods for the monitoring and diagnostics of rotating electrical machines.

He is president of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society and associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics. He is also a member of the IEEE Control Systems, Power Electronics, and Power & Energy societies.

Conry Photo: Clarkson University

IEEE Fellow Susan Conry received the IEEE Education Society’s 2011 William E. Sayle II Award for Achievement in Education. She was honored for her “outstanding technical contributions and service in computer science and engineering education and accreditation.”

Conry is chair of the Engineering Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, which is responsible for rating engineering programs in the United States. She has worked with the IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery to develop curricula.

A professor of electrical and computer engineering at Clarkson University, in Potsdam, N.Y., she is a member of the IEEE Computer and Education societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More