Achievements: February 2013

The following IEEE members were recognized recently by other organizations and IEEE societies

25 February 2013
achievemekhiche Photo: Ocean Power Technologies

IEEE Member Mike M. Mekhiche was named vice president of engineering at Ocean Power Technologies, a renewable-energy company specializing in generating electric power from ocean waves, in Pennington, N.J.

He is responsible for the company’s engineering and advanced technology development, including work on the next generation of the PowerBuoy system, which extracts energy produced by waves. Previously, he was director of power and energy management at BAE Systems, a defense, security, and aerospace company in Johnson City, N.Y.

Mekhiche is a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems, Engineering in Medicine and Biology, Magnetics, Power Electronics, Power & Energy, and Vehicular Technology societies.

achieveMinal Photo: University of Cincinnati

Senior Member Ali Minai received the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Integrated NSF Support Promoting Interdisciplinary Research and Education (INSPIRE) grant.

He is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Cincinnati. The US $1 million grant will be used for a research project entitled “The Hunting of the Spark: A Systematic Study of Natural Creativity in Human Networks.” Minai and his team of researchers at the school plan to create computational models of various regions of the brain in order to understand the cognitive and social factors that underlie creativity in individuals and groups, including their activities on social networks.

Minai is a member of the IEEE Computer; Computational Intelligence; Engineering in Medicine and Biology; Information Theory; and Systems, Man, and Cybernetics societies.

achieveZue Photo: MIT

Member Victor Zue received the 2012 Okawa Prize, which recognizes “pioneering and outstanding contributions to speech science and conversational spoken-language systems.” Presented annually by the Okawa Foundation for Information and Telecommunications, Tokyo, the award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to research, technological development, and business in the foundation’s fields of interest. The Okawa Foundation’s mission is to promote and seek developments in these fields through awards and research grants.

Zue is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at MIT.

From 1989 to 2001, he led the university’s Spoken Language Systems Group, which developed several new human-machine interfaces. His research focuses on technology that makes it easier for humans and computers to communicate using speech.

Zue is a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

The following IEEE Fellows were recognized by IEEE societies.

achieveAgrawal Photo: Rochester University

Govind Agrawal received the IEEE Photonics Society’s 2012 Quantum Electronics Award. He was honored for “sustained contributions to fiber-optic telecommunications technology through innovative research and authorship of numerous widely respected books in the field.”

Agrawal is a professor of optics and physics at the University of Rochester, in New York. His research interests include quantum electronics, nonlinear optics, and laser physics. He has authored several books, including Nonlinear Fiber Optics (Elsevier, 2013) and Fiber-Optic Communication Systems (Wiley, 2010).

He is a member of the IEEE Communications and IEEE Photonics societies.

achieveEnjeti Photo: Texas A&M University

Prasad Enjeti received the IEEE Power Electronics Society’s 2012 R. David Middlebrook Technological Achievement Award for outstanding technical contributions to power electronics.

A professor of electrical engineering at Texas A&M University, in College Station, Enjeti is the lead researcher in the university’s Fuel Cell Power Systems Laboratory. His work focuses on power electronics, power quality, and clean-power utility interface issues.

He is a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems, Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, and Power & Energy societies.

achieveKale Photo: University of Illinois

Laxmikant “Sanjay” Kale shared the IEEE Computer Society’s 2012 Sidney Fernbach Award with Klaus Schulten, a colleague at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of high-performance computers using innovative approaches. The two were honored for “the development of widely used parallel software for large biomolecular systems simulation.”

Kale is a professor of computer science and director of the Parallel Programming Laboratory at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. His work focuses on increasing performance and productivity of parallel computing using adaptive runtime systems, dynamic load balancing, fault tolerance, and power management. He helped develop Charm++, a parallel object-oriented programming language based on C++.

Kale is a member of the IEEE Computer and IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More