Achievements: January 2013

The following IEEE members were recognized recently by other organizations and IEEE societies

28 January 2013

achieveAhern Photo: Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Worcester Polytechnic Institute, in Massachusetts, appointed IEEE Member Michael Ahern as the first director of its power systems engineering program. The program is one of the largest areas in the school’s corporate and professional education department, which offers online continuing education and graduate programs.

Prior to joining WPI, Ahern was vice president of utility services at Northeast Utilities, in Hartford, Conn., which supplies electricity and natural gas to customers in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire.

He is a member of the IEEE Power & Energy Society.

achieveMassoud Photo: Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Senior Member Yehia Massoud was named head of Worcester Polytechnic Institute’s electrical and computer engineering department.

Previously Massoud was head of the electrical and computer engineering department at the University of Alabama in Birmingham.

He is a member of the IEEE Circuits and Systems; Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology; Electron Devices; Magnetics; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid-State Circuits societies.

The IEEE Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Society presented four of its members with awards.

achieveGarrou Photo: International Microelectronics Assembly and Packaging Society

Fellow Philip E. Garrou received the society’s David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the society’s fields of interest through executive or managerial direction.

Garrou was cited for “a quarter century of strategic and forward-looking leadership of the CPMT Society and key CPMT conferences.”

He was president of the society from 2003 to 2005, and is now on its board of governors as director of industry programs. He works as a consultant for the microelectronics and semiconductor device manufacturing industry, in Cary, N.C.

achieveLee Photo: University of California

Fellow Chin C. Lee received the society’s Electronics Manufacturing Technology Award. He was cited for “significant enhancements to interconnect manufacturing through research, invention, and education.”

Lee is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine. His research interests include electronic packaging, thermal analysis, measurement of electronic devices, and acoustics.

achieveTay Photo: IMPACT

Member Andrew A.O. Tay received the society’s Exceptional Technical Achievement Award, for “exceptional contributions to reliability modeling and the understanding of delamination and popcorn failure of IC packages.”

Tay is a professor of mechanical engineering at National University of Singapore, where his research interests include electronic packaging, heat transfer, and microelectromechanical systems.

achieveTseng Photo: National Chiao-Tung Unversity

The society honored Fellow Tseung-Yuen Tseng with its Outstanding Sustained Technical Contribution Award for “outstanding sustained contributions in passive component, electronic ceramic, and nanoceramic technologies.”

Tseng is a professor of electronics engineering at National Chiao-Tung University, in Hsinchu, Taiwan. His research interests include ceramic materials and devices; ferroelectric, dielectric, semiconducting, and conducting oxides; ceramic thin films; and gate dielectrics.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More