Achievements: November 2012

The following IEEE members were recognized recently by other organizations and IEEE societies

26 November 2012

Six IEEE members are among the 96 recipients of U.S. Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. The awards are the highest honors bestowed by the United States for science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their research careers. Award recipients receive a plaque and a research grant for up to five years to further their studies. The IEEE recipients are:

Member Luis von Ahn, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh; Members Stanley Atcitty and Daniel B. Sinars, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque; Member Ian Coddington, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.; Member Michael J. Freedman, Princeton University; and Senior Member Ao Tang, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

achieveJemison Photo: Clarkson University

Fellow William Jemison was named interim vice provost for research at Clarkson University, in Potsdam, N.Y.

Jemison has been a professor and chair in the university’s department of electrical and computer engineering since 2010. His research interests include microwave photonic systems, antenna design, radar systems, and wireless and optical communications systems.

He is a member of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society.

AchieveWong Photo: University of Illinois

The University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, appointed IEEE Fellow Martin D.F. Wong acting associate dean of its College of Engineering.

Wong has been a professor of electrical and computer engineering and a researcher at the university’s Coordinated Science Laboratory since 2002. His research focuses on computer-aided design of integrated circuits.

He is a member of the IEEE Circuits and Systems and IEEE Computer societies.

The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society presented three of its members with awards.

AchieveLaroussi Photo: Old Dominion University

Fellow Mounir Laroussi received the society’s Merit Award for “ongoing exceptional contributions to the biomedical applications of plasmas.”

Laroussi is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Old Dominion University, in Norfolk, Va., and director of its Laser and Plasma Engineering Institute. His research focuses on plasma heating, plasma turbulence, and RF emission from plasmas.

AchievePadamsee_Yakimenko Photo: Cornell University (left); Brookhaven National Laboratory (right)

Hasan Padamsee and Vitaly Yakimenko received the society’s Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Awards, granted each year for outstanding contributions to the field.

Padamsee was recognized for “contributions to the science and technology of RF superconductivity.” A senior physicist and adjunct professor of physics at Cornell University, he was head of Cornell’s superconductivity radio frequency group from 1973 to 2009.

Yakimenko was cited for “contributions to high-brightness electron beams and to their application to advanced accelerators and light sources.” He is a physicist at Brookhaven National Laboratory, in Upton, N.Y., where he develops bright beam sources and advanced particle accelerators.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More