Achievements: November 2013

The following IEEE members were recently recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

29 November 2013
achieveDas Photo: Missouri University

Senior Member Sajal Das was named chair of the computer science department at Missouri University of Science and Technology, in Rolla.

He has been a professor of computer science and director of the university’s Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking for more than a decade. Since 2004, Das has served as editor in chief of the Pervasive and Mobile Computing Journal [Elsevier]. His research interests include wireless and sensor networks, mobile and pervasive computing, smart environments, cloud computing, and systems biology.

Das is a member of the IEEE Communications and Computer societies.

achieveGmachl Photo: Princeton University

Senior Member Claire Gmachl was named vice dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at Princeton University. She will be responsible for making decisions about the school’s budget, funding for faculty projects, and hiring new faculty. She will also work to create new international internship opportunities for undergraduate students.

Gmachl is a professor of electrical engineering and director of the university’s Mid-Infrared Technologies for Health and Environment Center, where she investigates quantum devices and their application in sensors and optical communications.

She is a member of the IEEE Photonics Society.

achieveRanade Photo: New Mexico State University

Senior Member Satishkumar J. Ranade received the 2013 Energy Executive of the Year Award from the New Mexico chapter of the Association of Energy Engineers. The award is presented each year to an individual for outstanding accomplishments in promoting the practices, principles, and procedures of energy engineering.

Ranade is head of the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the College of Engineering, and director of the electric utility management program at New Mexico State University, in Las Cruces. His research interests include power system modeling and control, power electronics applications, renewable energy, and microgrids.

He is a member of the IEEE Computational Intelligence, Control Systems, Industrial Electronics, and Power & Energy societies, as well as the IEEE Standards Association.

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies.

achieveErkip Photo: New York University

Fellow Elza Erkip received the 2013 IEEE Communications Society Award for Advances in Wireless Communications. The award is given to the author of a paper that appeared in any of the society’s publications through the past 15 years that was found to have had a vital and long-lasting impact on the field.

Erkip was cited for her paper “User Cooperation Diversity Part I: System Description,” published in the November 2003 issue of IEEE Transactions on Communications. The paper addresses two common problems with cellphones—dropped calls and poor reception—due to variations in signal strength. She helped develop a way in which the signal on a mobile device could be boosted by tapping into the collective power of nearby smartphones, laptops, and other wireless devices.

Erkip is an associate professor of electrical and computer engineering at the Polytechnic Institute of New York University, in New York City. Her research interests include communications and information theory, and wireless communications.

She is a member of the IEEE Communications, Information Theory, and Signal Processing societies.

achieveFilippetti Photo: CMAEL

IEEE Member Fiorenzo Filippetti received the 2013 Diagnostic Achievement Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society. Presented every other year, the award recognizes an individual for outstanding sustained technical contributions and service in the field of diagnostics for and monitoring of electrical machines, power electronics, and drives.

Filippetti is a professor of electrical, electronic, and information engineering at the University of Bologna, in Italy. There, he researches condition monitoring and fault-detection techniques for electrical machines and drives.

He is a member of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. Filippetti is also a member of the Italian Association of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Italian Association of Converters, Electrical Machines, and Drives.

achieveSnir Photo: IEEE

The IEEE Computer Society presented IEEE Fellow Marc Snir with the Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award, one of its highest honors. He was recognized for “contributions to the research, development, theory, and standardization of high-performance parallel computing, including the IBM RS/6000 SP and Blue Gene systems,” which were part of the company’s original line of workstations and servers.

Snir is director of the mathematics and computer science division at Argonne National Laboratory, in Lemont, Ill. He is also a professor of computer science at the University of Illinois, in Urbana-Champaign, where he is currently investigating programming environments for high-performance computing.

He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More