Achievements: October 2014

The following IEEE members were recently recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

27 October 2014
achieveChowdhery Photos, left: MIT; right: European Patent Office

IEEE Life Fellow Mildred Dresselhaus and Member Charles Hull were inducted into the U.S. National Inventors Hall of Fame, in Alexandria, Va.

Dresselhaus was recognized for her development of super lattice structures and related carbon technologies that serve as the foundation for lithium ion batteries used in modern computers, cellphones, and electric vehicles.

She is a professor emeritus at MIT, where she teaches courses in physics and electrical engineering. Her work there focuses on superconductivity, the electronic properties of carbon, thermoelectricity, and nanophysics.

Hull was honored for fundamental contributions to stereolithography, now known as 3-D printing. In 1983 he developed a method for 3-D printing that uses ultraviolet light to cure and bond a photopolymer resin. The technique is used to build 3-D structures layer by layer. In 1986 Hull cofounded 3D Systems, a company that makes 3-D printers and develops 3-D imaging software, in Rock Hill, S.C.

He is a member of the IEEE Communications and Computer societies.

achievehegab Photo: Louisiana Tech

IEEE Member Hisham Hegab was named dean of Louisiana Technical University’s College of Engineering and Science, in Ruston, La.

He is an associate professor of mechanical engineering and academic director of the university’s computer science, electrical engineering, and nanosystems engineering programs.

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies.

achieveMudge Photo: University of Michigan

Life Fellow Trevor Mudge was presented with the Eckert-Mauchly Award by the IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery. The joint award recognizes contributions to digital systems and computer architecture. It is named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who in 1947 collaborated on the design and construction of ENIAC, the first large-scale electronic computing machine.

Mudge was honored for contributions to low-power computer architecture for high-performance microprocessors. He is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society.

The IEEE Electron Devices Society presented two of its members with awards.

achievesinton Photo: IEEE

IEEE Member Ronald A. Sinton received the society’s William R. Cherry Award. Sinton was recognized for significant contributions to photovoltaic energy conversion, including techniques for measuring the efficiency and potential life span of solar cells and modules. (Cherry was a pioneer of PV technology.)

Sinton is founder and president of Sinton Instruments, a manufacturer of silicon solar cells and integrated circuits, in Boulder, Colo.

achieveshultz-wittmann Photo: IEEE

Member Oliver Schultz-Wittmann received the society’s Young Professional Award. He was recognized for “outstanding achievements in the development of silicon solar cells and high-efficiency, low-cost crystalline cells.”

There is no age limit for the award; however, recipients must have received a bachelor’s degree within the last 15 years to qualify. Schultz-Wittmann earned a bachelor’s degree in physics in 2001 from the University of Hamburg, Germany.

He is cofounder and vice president of TetraSun, a start-up in San Jose, Calif., that produces crystalline silicon cells for solar panels. The company was recently acquired by First Solar, a photovoltaic technology manufacturer, in Tempe, Ariz. Schultz-Wittmann remains with First Solar as vice president.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More