Achievements: October 2015

Several IEEE members have been recognized for appointments and awards

26 October 2015

Life Member Ajoy Bose was appointed to the board of directors of the Electronic Design Automation Consortium. EDAC is a trade group for electronic design companies.

Bose is president and CEO of Atrenta, a San Jose, Calif., company that develops system-on-chip technologies for the consumer electronics industry.

Senior Member Carlos Busso received the Association for Computing Machinery’s Technical Impact Award. He was recognized for his work in audiovisual emotion recognition. Busso analyzed the limits of trying to detect people’s emotional state solely from speech or facial clues and pointed out the benefits of studying both simultaneously.

He is an assistant professor of electrical engineering at the University of Texas, Dallas. He belongs to the IEEE Computer and IEEE Signal Processing societies, as well as the IEEE Young Professionals Program.

IEEE Fellow Bill Jemison was named dean of the Coulter School of Engineering at Clarkson University, in Potsdam, N.Y.

Previously he served as the university’s vice provost for research and chair of its electrical and computer engineering department. His research interests include microwave photonic systems, antenna design, and optical communications.

Jemison is a member of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques and IEEE Oceanic Engineering societies.

IEEE Member Dan Lin was named 2015 Woman of the Year by Missouri University of Science and Technology, in Rolla. The annual award recognizes efforts to improve the school’s environment for women and minorities.

Lin is an assistant professor of computer science, teaching courses on cloud and pervasive computing and database systems. She is also chair of the computer science department’s Diversity Committee and a faculty advisor for the university’s IEEE Computer Society chapter and its Association for Computing Machinery’s Women in Computing committee.

Two IEEE Fellows received U.S. Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring.

Fellow Gary S. May is the dean of Georgia Tech’s College of Engineering and received the U.S. government award for establishing the Summer Undergraduate Research in Engineering and Science Program, a 10-week session that encourages minority students to attend graduate school in those fields. The students attend weekly professional development classes and preparation for graduate school seminars and are mentored by graduate students and faculty.

May is a member of the IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology, IEEE Computational Intelligence, IEEE Computer, and IEEE Electron Devices societies.

IEEE Life Fellow John B. Slaughter was honored for developing several mentoring programs to boost minority participation in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. In 1980, he became the first African-American director of the National Science Foundation. Slaughter is now a professor of education at the Rossier School of Education at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, and a professor of engineering at its Viterbi School of Engineering.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More