IEEE Honors Tech Pioneers

Tech innovators applauded at annual event

7 October 2011

IEEE recognized 22 people with medals and awards at its annual Honors Ceremony on 20 August in San Francisco, held in conjunction with the IEEE 2011 Sections Congress. IEEE President Moshe Kam and IEEE President-elect Gordon Day presented the awards. “Power of Persistence” was the theme of the event, which is presented in an video, below. The video features each recipient’s acceptance speech.

Among those honored was the IEEE Medal of Honor recipient for 2011, Morris Chang. An IEEE Life Member, Chang is chairman and CEO of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing, the world’s first dedicated semiconductor foundry, in Hsinchu. Chang founded the company in 1987. 

As its CEO for more than two decades, he did much to advance the foundry and fabless semiconductor industries. Among his innovations was the pairing of chip companies with independent manufacturers to produce integrated circuits—which helped establish, for example, Texas Instruments’ transistor-transistor logic as the standard logic family. Chang helped create new business models, including a dedicated one for silicon foundries.

Visit for a complete list of awards and recipients.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More