Member Recognitions: May 2009

The following members were honored by other organizations

6 May 2009

EE Times in conjunction with IEEE Spectrum selected the following IEEE members as recipients of their 2009 Annual Creativity in Electronics Awards. They were cited for displaying “outstanding leadership and innovation in technology.”

IEEE Fellow Leah Jamieson was named Educator of the Year. Jamieson, 2007 IEEE President, has been dean of engineering since 2006 at Purdue University, in West Lafayette, Ind., and served on the university faculty since 1976.

During her career, Jamieson has received nearly 30 awards and honors, including the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s 2003 Meritorious Service Award and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000. An active volunteer, she’s a member of the IEEE Computer, Education, and Signal Processing societies, and the Society on Social Implications of Technology, as well as a member of IEEE Women in Engineering.

Jamieson earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1972 from MIT. She went on to receive master’s and doctoral degrees in 1974 and 1977, from Princeton University, in electrical engineering and computer science.

Senior Member Necip Sayiner was named Executive of the Year. He has been chief executive officer, president, and director of Silicon Laboratories, in Austin, Texas, since September 2005. Prior to that, he held several senior management positions at Agere Systems—a company based in Allentown, Pa., that produces IC components for telecommunications and networking equipment—including serving as vice president and general manager of its enterprise and networking division for two years.

Sayiner earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and physics from Bosphorus University, in Istanbul, a master’s in electrical engineering from Southern Illinois University, in Carbondale, Ill., and a doctorate in electrical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia.

Member R. Stanley Williams was named Innovator of the Year. He is a Senior Fellow and director of the Information and Quantum Systems Laboratory, which he founded in 1995, at Hewlett-Packard Co., in Palo Alto, Calif. There, he’s developing technology for the company’s Central Nervous System for the Earth, a system that uses sensors to monitor our planet. He also conducts research in solid-state chemistry and physics.

Williams received a bachelor’s degree in chemical physics in 1974 from Rice University, in Houston, and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry in 1978 from the University of California, Berkeley.


Eight engineering assistant professors at the University of Texas at Austin were awarded Faculty Early Career Development grants from the U.S. National Science Foundation. The award honors junior faculty “who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.” The instructors each received US $400,000 or more supporting five years of research.

Member Christine Julien’s project focuses on improving delay-tolerant communication networks and simplifying the software development process. She is a member of the IEEE Computer Society and Women in Engineering. Julien received a bachelor’s degree in 2000, a master’s in 2003, and doctorate in 2004, all in computer science, from Washington University in St. Louis.

Member Alexis Kwasinski conducts research in electromechanical systems, energy conversion, and power electronics. He is a member of the IEEE Power Electronics, Power & Energy, and Industry Applications societies. Kwasinski received an electrical engineering degree in 1993 from the Buenos Aires Institute of Technology. He earned a master’s in 2005 and a doctorate in 2007, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He also earned a graduate specialization degree in telecommunications in 1997 from the University of Buenos Aires.

Member Emanuel Tutuc studies electronic properties of quantum confined systems and chemical vapor deposition. He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society. Tutuc received a bachelor’s degree in physics in 1997 from the Ecole Normale Supérieure, in Paris, and a master’s in electrical engineering in 1999 and Ph.D. in physics in 2004, both from Princeton University.


The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement Foundation’s Board of Advisors elected Senior Member Michael D. Griffin as the 2009 National Space Trophy winner in Houston. Griffin was cited for his achievements in space technology, space programs, and for his work in academia and industry.

As the NASA administrator from 2005 to 2009, Griffin established a plan for completing the International Space Station, directed the shuttle program’s return-to-flight activities after the Columbia disaster, and established a long-term human space exploration program.

Griffin’s academic background includes numerous postgraduate degrees. He earned a bachelor's degree in physics in 1971 from Johns Hopkins University, in Baltimore; a master's degree in aerospace science in 1974 from Catholic University of America, in Washington, D.C.; a Ph.D. in aerospace engineering in 1977 from the University of Maryland, in College Park; a master's in electrical engineering in 1979 from the University of Southern California, in Los Angeles; and a master's in applied physics in 1983 from Johns Hopkins. In addition, he received a master's degree in business administration in 1990 from Loyola College, in Baltimore; and a master's in civil engineering in 1998 from George Washington University, in Washington, D.C.


Member John D. Johnson received the 2009 Senior Scientist of the Year Award from the Quad City Engineering and Science Council, in Davenport, Iowa. The council of 32 engineering and technical societies recognizes the contributions of local engineers and the science community of Illinois and Iowa.

Since 1999 Johnson has been the senior security program manager at John Deere, the agricultural machinery manufacturer, in Moline, Ill. His responsibilities include overseeing computer network security, developing antivirus and spyware systems, and evaluating data loss prevention technologies.

Johnson also is an adjunct professor at St. Ambrose University, in Davenport, and at Scott Community College, in Bettendorf, Iowa. He teaches physics and astronomy at St. Ambrose, and ethics and computer security management at Scott.

He currently serves as IEEE Region 4 education chair and is a member of the IEEE Computer Society.

Johnson received a bachelor’s degree in 1986 from Michigan Technological University, in Houghton; a master’s in 1988 from Michigan State University, in East Lansing; and a Ph.D. in 1992 from the University of Texas at Austin, all in physics.


IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More