Member Recognitions: September 2009

The following members were honored by other organizations

4 September 2009


Johnson has been appointed undersecretary for energy at the U.S. Department of Energy.

Prior to her appointment, she was provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Johns Hopkins University, in Baltimore.

In 2007, Johnson became the first woman to receive the John Fritz Medal from the American Association of Engineering Societies for her contributions in optics, optoelectronic switching, and display technology. She is a member of the IEEE Photonics and Electron Devices societies and the IEEE Women in Engineering group.

Johnson received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in 1981 and a Ph.D. in 1984, all in electrical engineering from Stanford University.



Tomlinson was named the recipient of Spain’s 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research for pioneering the network messaging system known today as e-mail. Many aspects of his early work still persist—most notably his choice of the "@" symbol to separate user and computer names in e-mail addresses. This invention was cited as being “among the greatest technological innovations of our time.” He received a cash prize of €50 000 (US $70 000) and a sculpture symbolizing the awards by Spanish artist Joan Miró.

Tomlinson is a principal engineer at BBN Technologies (formerly Bolt, Beranek, and Newman) in Cambridge, Mass. In 1971 he developed the Advanced Research Projects Agency Network’s (ARPANET’s) first mail system in which messages could be delivered among users at different computers—now known as e-mail. He received the 2004 IEEE Internet Award for exceptional contributions to the advancement of Internet technology.

Tomlinson earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1963 from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in Troy, N.Y., and a master’s in electrical engineering in 1965 from MIT.



Ziv is the recipient of the Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Information and Communications Technology from the BBVA Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the Spanish banking group, Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria. The foundation is committed to improving scientific research, especially in areas in which it conducts its business. Ziv received €400 000 (about US $560 000) and was cited for his groundbreaking innovations in data compression, which have had a “deep and lasting impact on both theory and practice of communications and information theory.” This is the first time the award has been given.

Ziv is an electrical engineering professor at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, in Haifa. In addition to data compression, his research interests include information theory and statistical communication. In 1977 he coinvented the LZ compression algorithm, which enables the efficient storage and transmission of data, text, video, and images. His principles paved the way for the PDF, GIF, PNG, and MP3 data-compression formats. His work also led to improvements in hard drive, fax, DVD, and HDTV technologies. Ziv is a member of the IEEE Information Theory Society.

He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering in 1954 and 1957 from the Technion and a doctorate in information theory in 1962 from MIT.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More