Member Recognitions: February 2011

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by other organizations

4 February 2011

Senior Member William R. Goodin received the 2010 Society of Women Engineers Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award. Goodin was cited for “steadfast support of advancing women in engineering and for actively encouraging participation of women in programs that foster technical leadership skills.” Chipp, who was active in the organization, was the husband of Beatrice Hicks, SWE’s first president.

Goodin is director of short courses and technical management programs at the University of California at Los Angeles, where he oversees more than 150 courses.

He is a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems, Communications, and Computer societies.


Fellow Venu Govindaraju has been named a State University of New York distinguished professor, the school’s highest faculty rank.

Govindaraju is a professor of computer science and engineering at the SUNY in Buffalo. He is the founding director of the university’s Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors and associate director of its Center for Document Analysis and Recognition. His research in handwriting recognition in the late 1990s helped lead to the first handwritten address–interpretation system used by the U.S. Postal Service.

He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society.


The Northeastern Pennsylvania Business Journal has selected Member Thomas Millard, 38, as one of the region’s Top 20 business professionals younger than 40. The journal selects 20 honorees annually for their career accomplishments.

Millard is director of electrical engineering at Highland Associates, an architectural, engineering, and design firm in Clarks Summit.


Fellow Mark Rodwell was named the Doluca Family chair in electrical and computer engineering at the University of California at Santa Barbara. He was recognized for his achievements in high-frequency radio, high-speed optical communications, and powerful imaging applications. The endowed professorship was established to support education and technological innovation in analog and mixed-signal IC design.

Rodwell is a professor of electrical and computer engineering. He also serves as director of the university’s nanofabrication facility, which researches materials science, optoelectronics, and electronic devices.

He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid-State Circuits societies.


Fellow Andrew J. Steckl was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for contributions to optoelectronic devices.

Steckl is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Cincinnati. His research focuses on using biological materials, such as modified DNA from salmon, to develop green electronics.

He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.



IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More