Member Recognitions: April 2008

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by other organizations

7 April 2008

Twenty-two IEEE members have been elected to the (U.S.) National Academy of Engineering out of a total class of 74. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, education, and literature. The new IEEE academicians are:

Fellow Isamu Akasaki, Associate Member Robert C. Armstrong, Fellow Pallab K. Bhattacharya, Member Mau-Chung Frank Chang, Fellow James D. Foley, Affiliate Member Donald J. Haderle, Fellow Burn-Jeng Lin, Life Fellow Thomas Anthony Lipo, Life Fellow David G. Luenberger, Fellow David L. Mills, Member Shree K. Nayar, Fellow Prabhakar Raghavan, Fellow Yahya Rahmat-Samii, Member Marc Raibert, Senior Member Rebecca Rae Richards-Kortum, Honorary Member Vladimir Rokhlin, Associate Member Robert F. Sawyer, Member James A. Sethian, Fellow Paul H. Siegel, Member Zhigang Suo, Fellow Tadashi Watanabe, and Fellow Andrew M. Weiner.


Four IEEE members were inducted this year into the (U.S.) National Inventor’s Hall of Fame, in Akron, Ohio. The museum, which honors inventors worldwide, was established in 1973 by the National Council of Intellectual Property Associations and the Patent Law and Trademark Office of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Amar Gopal Bose, an IEEE Fellow, was recognized for inventing a range of innovative and high-quality audio systems. In 1964 he founded Bose Corp., in Framingham, Mass., a company that develops and manufactures speakers, amplifiers, headphones, and automotive sound systems.

He earned his bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from MIT in 1951, 1952, and 1956.

Fellow Nick Holonyak, Jr. was recognized for his breakthrough research on LEDs. He built the first red LED and the first visible-spectrum semiconductor laser in 1962 while a researcher at General Electric Co., in Syracuse, N.Y. Holonyak is now an electrical engineering professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

He received the 2003 IEEE Medal of Honor for "a career of pioneering contributions to semiconductors, including the growth of semiconductor alloys and heterojunctions, and to visible light-emitting diodes and injection lasers."

Holonyak received his bachelor’s degree in 1950, a master’s the following year, and his Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1954, all from the University of Illinois.

IEEE Life Member Erna Hoover was cited for her key contributions to the system architecture of the first electronic telephone central-office switch, developed in 1954 by Bell Laboratories in Whippany, N.J. The switching system was the first of its kind. It used computers to monitor the frequency of incoming calls, and prevent system overload by adjusting the acceptable call rate. Hoover was also the first woman at Bell to be promoted to head the technical department, a position she held from 1978 until she retired in 1987.

She received a bachelor’s degree in classical and medieval philosophy and history in 1948 from Wellesley College, in Massachusetts. She went on to earn a Ph.D. in philosophy and foundations of mathematics in 1951 from Yale University.

Amos Joel Jr., a Life Fellow, helped pioneer the development of the first electronic telephone switching systems at Bell Laboratories, in Holmdel, N.J. Between 1961 and 1967, he designed two systems to improve operator functions: one for calls that required an operator, and another that announced telephone charges based on the number dialed. He spent his entire career at Bell Labs, retiring in 1983.

Joel received the 1992 IEEE Medal of Honor for “fundamental contributions to and leadership in telecommunications switching systems." He earned both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering from MIT in 1940 and 1942.


IEEE Fellow Kim Boyer is the new head of the department of electrical, computer, and systems engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in Troy, N.Y.

Before joining the faculty in January, he was a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Ohio State University, in Columbus. Boyer’s specialty is computer vision, and he has been involved with machines that scan images from X-rays and satellite photos, recognize shapes, and then organize the data. He also studies medical imaging, particularly advanced heart imaging and human eye modeling.

He has written two books on computer vision and is on the editorial board of two journals, Computer Vision and Image Understanding and Machine Vision and Applications.

Boyer received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in 1976 and 1977, and was awarded his doctoral degree in electrical engineering in 1986, all from Purdue University, in West Lafayette, Ind.


The Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Science of Texas, in Austin, presented Senior Member Sameer Pendharkar with one of this year’s Edith and Peter O’Donnell awards. He was recognized for “developing power management semiconductor technology to improve the reliability and safety of automotive systems and extend battery life in consumer electronics.”

The annual awards recognize outstanding achievements by young researchers in medicine, engineering, science, and technology.

Pendharkar, 35, works in Texas Instruments’ analog technology development group, in Dallas. He has designed transistor switches for automotive applications that have improved power conversion by more than 50 percent. High-voltage transistor technology is used for such features as electronic stability control, automatic braking, and weight sensors for airbags.

He received a bachelor and a master of technology degree in electrical engineering in 1994 from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He earned a master of science in electrical engineering in 1996 from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More