Society Recognitions: April 2008

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by IEEE societies

7 April 2008

IEEE Fellow Joe C. Campbell has received the 2008 IEEE Photonics Award from the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society. The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and an honorarium.

Campbell is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville. He helped develop laser light detectors used in fiber-optic telephone and other telecommunication systems. He also helped develop high-speed, low-noise avalanche photodiodes, which convert pulses of light into electrical information for long-distance telecommunications.

Campbell received a bachelor’s degree in physics in 1969 from the University of Texas, Austin. He earned master’s and doctoral degrees, also in physics, from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 1971 and 1973.


The IEEE and the Institute of Electronics Engineers of Korea (IEEK) has presented Senior Member Sunghyun Choi with the IEEE-IEEK Joint Award for Young Engineers and Scientists. He was cited for his “outstanding impact and contributions to telecommunication technology and the economic competitiveness of Korea.”

Choi, 37, is an associate professor of electrical engineering at Seoul National University, in Korea. He works in the university’s Multimedia and Wireless Networking Laboratory, where he develops networking protocols and algorithms.

He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, in 1992 and 1994. He went on to earn a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1999 from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.


Fellow Shun Lien Chuang has received the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society’s 2007 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award. He was cited for “contributions to the development of the fundamental theories of strained quantum-well lasers and the physics of optoelectronics devices.”

The annual award recognizes an exceptional scientific contribution that has had a significant impact in the preceding 10 years in lasers and electro-optics. It consists of a US $1000 honorarium and a medal.

Chuang is a professor of electrical and computer science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. His research interests include slow light, wavelength conversion, and nano-lasers using semiconductor quantum dots.

He received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1976 from National Taiwan University, Taipei. He earned master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from MIT in 1980 and 1983.


The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society presented Fellow Glenn Knoll with its 2007 Radiation Instrumentation Outstanding Achievement Award. He was cited for his contributions to nuclear medicine and positron emission tomography imaging.

The award, established in 2001 and presented biennially, recognizes outstanding contributions to radiation instrumentation and techniques for measuring ionizing radiation.

Knoll is professor emeritus of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His research interests include detection and spectroscopy of ionizing radiation, gamma ray imaging, and neutron detection and imaging.

He received a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering in 1957 from Case Institute of Technology (now Case Western Reserve University), in Cleveland. He earned his master’s degree in chemical engineering in 1959 from Stanford University, and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering in 1963 from the University of Michigan.


Fellow Robert W. Tkach has received the 2008 John Tyndall Award from the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society and the Optical Society of America. He was cited for "pioneering breakthroughs in high-capacity transmission systems and networks, including the invention of non-zero dispersion fiber and dispersion management of optical fiber nonlinearities."

The annual award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology. It consists of a glass sculpture, a scroll, and an honorarium.

Tkach is director of the transmission systems research department at Bell Laboratories, in Crawford Hill, N.J. His research involves dispersion management, optical amplification, optical networking, and high-speed dense wavelength division multiplexing transmission systems.

He received bachelor’s degrees in physics and mathematics in 1976 from the University of Cincinnati. He earned master’s and doctoral degrees in physics from Cornell University, in Ithaca, N.Y., in 1979 and 1982.


Ilan Ben-Zvi, a senior member, has received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society’s 2007 Free Electron Laser Prize. He was recognized for outstanding contributions to free electron laser science and technology. An FEL, a research tool that combines the focus of lasers and the intensity of synchrotrons, is useful for studying a wide variety of materials and chemical reactions.

The award is sponsored by the International Free Electron Laser Conference and consists of a citation, a plaque, and US $2500.

Ben-Zvi is a physicist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Brookhaven National Laboratory, in Upton, N.Y. He developed laser-photocathode radiofrequency guns that produce laser beams with record-breaking brightness. He is chair of the NPSS Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Technical Committee. This year he was also elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

He received a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and physics in 1965 from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He earned master’s and doctoral degrees in physics from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel, in 1967 and 1970.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More