Society Recognitions

Senior Member Saman Adham received the J

7 May 2008

Senior Member Saman Adham received the J.J. Archambault Eastern Canada Merit Award from IEEE Region 7 (Canada) for conceiving, designing, and operating the region’s Webinar program, launched in 2007. Adham is chairman of the region’s Education Activities Committee.

Adham is also a senior director of engineering at LogicVision, an electronic design automation company, in Ottawa, Ont., Canada.

He earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Baghdad, Iraq, in 1977 and 1979. He went on to earn a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1991 from Queens University, Kingston, Ont.


The IEEE Signal Processing Society presented the following four members with its 2007 annual awards.


Fellow Alan C. Bovik received the society’s Education Award for “broad and lasting contributions to image processing education, including popular and important image processing books, and innovative online courseware, and other contributions to the image processing field.”

He is a professor of biomedical engineering, computer science, and electrical and computer engineering at the University of Texas in Austin. He is also director of the school’s Laboratory for Image and Video Engineering.

Bovik earned a bachelor’s degree in computer engineering and master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical and computer engineering, all from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 1980, 1982, and 1984.


The society’s Meritorious Service Award for exemplary and sustained service in technical leadership activities went to Fellow Rama Chellappa.

He is a professor of electrical engineering and an affiliate professor of computer science at the University of Maryland in College Park. Chellappa is also director of the university’s Center for Automation Research and a member of its Institute for Advanced Computer Studies.

Chellappa earned a bachelor’s degree in electronics and communication engineering in 1975 from the University of Madras, India, and a master’s in the same subjects in 1977 from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He earned a master’s degree and Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1978 and 1981 from Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.


Fellow H. Vincent Poor received the Technical Achievement award from the society for “fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing and its applications in wireless communications and related fields.”

He is dean of Princeton University’s School of Engineering and Applied Science and a professor of electrical engineering. His research interests include statistical signal processing and stochastic analysis and their application in finance, wireless networking, and other fields.

Poor received bachelor’s and master of science degrees in electrical engineering in 1972 and 1974 from Auburn University in Alabama. He earned a master of arts in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science from Princeton, in 1976 and 1977.


The Society Award went to Fellow Rabab Kreidieh Ward. She was cited for “outstanding technical contributions and leadership in advancing the field of signal and image processing.”

Ward is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. She is also director of the school’s Institute for Computing, Information, and Cognitive Systems.

She received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1966 from the University of Cairo. She went on to earn her master’s and Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1969 and 1972.



The IEEE Electron Devices Society presented its 2007 awards to these four members.


The society’s Education Award went to Fellow Meyya Meyyappan. He was cited for promoting nanotechnology education to university and high school students.

Meyyappan is chief scientist for exploration technology at NASA’s Ames Research Center, in Moffett Field, Calif., where he researches carbon nanotubes and inorganic nanowires and their application to sensors, instrumentation, and nanoelectronics.

He established research internship programs at the center and also developed and taught an introductory course on nanoscale science and technology from 2002 to 2005 at Santa Clara University, in California. In addition, he has given numerous lectures on nanotechnology at high schools and community colleges. He received his Ph.D. in 1984 from Clarkson University, in Potsdam, N.Y.


Life Fellow Richard S. Muller received the 2007 Distinguished Service Award. The award, established in 1993 to honor outstanding service to the society, includes a certificate and US $2500.

Muller is a professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer science at the graduate school at the University of California, Berkeley. He was also founding director of the Berkeley Sensor and Actuator Center. Muller is editor in chief of the IEEE/American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems.

He received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering in 1955 from Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, N.J., and earned a master’s in electrical engineering in 1957 and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering and physics in 1962 from Caltech.


The J.J. Ebers Award for outstanding contributions to electron devices went to Fellow Stephen J. Pearton. He was recognized for “developing advanced compound-semiconductor processing techniques, and clarifying the roles of defects and impurities in compound-semiconductor devices.”

Pearton is a professor and alumni chairman of the department of materials science and engineering at the University of Florida in Gainesville. His research interests include fabrication processes for LEDs, laser diodes, and power electronics.

He received bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in physics in 1978 and 1983 from the University of Tasmania, Australia.


Member Masafumi Yamaguchi received the society’s annual William R. Cherry Award for “discovering the superior radiation-resistance of InP and InGaP materials and solar cells [in 1984], and the light-illumination-enhanced annealing phenomena of radiation-induced defects in those materials [in 1997].” Cherry was a pioneer in the photovoltaic field and instrumental in establishing solar cells as an optimal power source for space satellites.

Yamaguchi is a professor at the Toyota Technological Institute, in Nagoya, Japan. He teaches various courses in materials science and physics and researches semiconductors. He earned bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in electronics engineering in 1968 and 1978 from Hokkaido University in Japan.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.