Society Recognitions: February 2009

The following people were honored with awards from IEEE societies

6 February 2009

Fellow Joe C. Campbell has received the 2009 John Tyndall Award, considered one of the highest honors in the fiber-optics community, from the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) and the Optical Society of America. Campbell was cited for “seminal contributions to the understanding, design, and telecommunication systems implementation of avalanche photodiodes.”

He has been a professor of engineering and applied science since 2006 at the University of Virginia, in Charlottesville. He was a professor of electrical and computer engineering from 1989 to 2005 at the University of Texas at Austin. He received the IEEE Millennium Medal in 2000 and the 2001 IEEE William Streifer Achievement Award from LEOS.

Campbell earned a bachelor’s degree in 1969 from the University of Texas at Austin and master’s and doctoral degrees in 1971 and 1973 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, all in physics.


Member Panos Michalopoulos received the 2007 IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Society Award in October 2008. He was cited for developing the autoscope, a digital imaging sensor that analyzes traffic data to reduce highway congestion.

Michalopoulos has been a professor of transportation and traffic engineering since 1976 at the University of Minnesota, in Minneapolis. He also is the founder of Imaging Sensing Systems, a software company established in 1976 in nearby St. Paul that develops devices that help reduce traffic on congested roadways and highways and provide maintenance-free traffic information.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1969 from the College of Engineering in Athens, Greece, and master’s and doctoral degrees in 1972 and 1975 from the University of Florida, in Gainesville, all in civil engineering.


Senior Member Marcelo Mota received the IEEE Larry K. Wilson Transnational Award from the IEEE Toronto Section for “20 years of IEEE volunteerism and significant contributions to the development and promotion of global activities and services to IEEE members.”

Mota has been director of IT programs since 2004 at the Greater Toronto Airports Authority, where he oversees projects such as the expansion of the airport’s IT infrastructure. He also serves as secretary of the IEEE Toronto Section.

He chaired the Transnational Committee of the IEEE Educational Activities Board from 1997 to 1998, focusing on member services and IEEE promotional activities in Regions 7, 8, 9, and 10.

Mota earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1982 from the Federal University of Bahia, in Salvador, Brazil, and a master’s in business administration in 1996 from the University of Warwick, England.


Fellow Henryk Temkin received the 2008 IEEE LEOS Aron Kressel Award for his research in optoelectronics and key developments in lasers.

He has been program manager since 2005 of the Microsystems Technology Office at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, in Arlington, Va. This research branch of the U.S. government develops devices, circuits, and materials for the Department of Defense.

As a professor, Temkin taught electrical engineering at both Texas Tech University, in Lubbock, from 1996 to 2005, and at Colorado State University, in Fort Collins, from 1992 to 1996.

He earned a bachelor's degree in physics in 1969 from Free University of Brussels, in Belgium. He received a master’s degree in physics in 1971 from Yeshiva University, in New York City, and a doctoral degree in physics in 1975 from Stevens Institute of Technology, in Hoboken, N.J.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More