Society Recognitions: October 2009

The following people were recently honored by IEEE groups or societies

6 October 2009

The IEEE Circuits and Systems Society recently recognized several of its members’ achievements in education, industry, technological innovation, and service.

Life Fellow Andreas Antoniou received the society’s Education Award. He was cited for “demonstrating leadership in the establishment of new innovative undergraduate and graduate programs in electrical and computer engineering.”

Antoniou is professor emeritus in the department of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. In 1983, he was the department’s founding chair. He proposed and oversaw the formation of the electrical and computer engineering undergraduate programs. They included his vision of a cooperative learning framework that would balance academics and practical experience before graduation. He also set up the basis of specialization within the school’s engineering programs to ensure the university remained current with the newest trends in technology. He became a full professor there in 1990 and retired in 2003.

His teaching and research interests have been in electronics, digital system design, circuits and systems, digital filters, and digital signal processing. He authored textbooks on digital filters, digital signal processing, and optimization.

He is a Circuits and Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer and a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

Antoniou received bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering in 1963 and 1966 from the University of London.


The society’s Meritorious Service Award went to IEEE Fellows Magdy A. Bayoumi and Ellen J. Yoffa.

Bayoumi was cited for his “outstanding long-term service and dedication to the society and taking initiations that have long-lasting impact and meaningful value to its members in the areas of conferences, technical activities, publications, outreach, and society visibility.”

Director of the Center for Advanced Computer Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, he heads the university’s computer science department. The professor is a member of the IEEE Communications and Computational Intelligence societies.

Bayoumi earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering in 1973 and 1977 from Cairo University. He went on to receive a master’s in computer engineering in 1981 from Washington University, in St. Louis, and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1984 from the University of Windsor, Ont., Canada.

Yoffa received the award for “dedicated service to the society and its membership and for leadership and technical contributions in the field of electronic design automation.”

She is director of the Next Generation Web program at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, in Hawthorne, N.Y. She leads research in advanced technologies for pervasive, client, and Web software infrastructure, including sensors and actuators, distributed messaging, and Web service architectures. She served as the society’s president in 2006.

Yoffa received bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in physics in 1973 and 1978 from MIT.


The society honored Member Paul E. Jacobs with its Industrial Pioneer Award for his vision of wireless data services—which was cited as being “transformational in the worldwide cellular industry.”

Jacobs is chairman of Qualcomm’s board of directors and its chief executive officer. In his capacity as CEO, he has helped build Qualcomm’s revenues to more than US $10 billion. He is a member of the IEEE Communications Society.

Jacobs earned bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, all in electrical engineering, from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1984, 1986, and 1989.


Life Fellow Ronald A. Rohrer received the society’s Vitold Belevitch Award “for advancing circuit theory to solve practical circuit design problems with everlasting impact on the global electronic industry.”

Rohrer is CEO and chairman of SystemIC, an electronic design automation start-up in Tempe, Ariz. He is recognized as an early developer of circuit simulation, IC interconnect reduction techniques, and signal delay calculations, and he is credited with broadening the use of electronic design automation tools.

He was the founding editor of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems.

Rohrer received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1960 from MIT and master’s and doctoral degrees in 1961 and 1963 from the University of California, Berkeley.


The society honored Life Fellow Gabor C. Temes with its Mac Van Valkenburg Award for “pioneering research on the theory and design of analog filters, switched-capacitor circuits, and delta-sigma data converters, and for contributions to engineering education through widely used professional and textbooks, as well as the mentoring of hundreds of successful electronics engineers.”

Temes is a professor in the department of electrical and computer engineering at Oregon State University, Corvallis. He has published nearly 300 papers in engineering journals and conference proceedings. He is a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1952 from the Technical University of Budapest and a bachelor’s degree in physics in 1955 from Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest. He received a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1961 from the University of Ottawa.


The IEEE Power & Energy Society honored one of its members, Fellow Ralph Masiello, with its Charles Concordia Power System Engineering Award. Masiello was cited for his “extraordinary vision, broad perspective, and compelling innovation to the enhancement of bulk power systems.”

Masiello is senior vice president and global innovation manager at KEMA in Chalfont, Pa. The company provides consulting services on energy and technology implementation. Masiello oversees innovation management practices that assist utilities and infrastructure suppliers in R&D projects. He is focusing on the application of smart-grid and electricity-storage technologies to system operations, as well as integrating electric vehicles with grid operations. He serves on the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Council.

Masiello earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in 1969 and a Ph.D. in 1973, all in electrical engineering from MIT.


The IEEE Reliability Society recognized Life Senior Member David Trindade with its Lifetime Achievement Award. A member of the society, he was honored for his accomplishments as an engineer, executive, consultant, author, and university instructor.

Trindade is a principal engineer at Sun Microsystems in San Jose, Calif. He applies statistical methods to solve problems involving reliability and quality for the company’s clients.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in physics in 1965 from Brown University, in Providence, R.I. He received a master’s in material sciences in 1968 from the University of Rochester, New York. He also received a master’s in statistics and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering and statistics in 1976 and 1980 from the University of Vermont, in Burlington.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More