Society Recognitions

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by IEEE societies

4 February 2011

The IEEE Communications Society honored four of its members with career and service awards. The annual awards recognize the contributions of leading experts.

IEEE Fellow Leonard J. Cimini Jr. received the Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award for “sustained, high quality contributions to Communications Society governance and operations, including conference development, publications, award processes, and strategic planning.” Cimini is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Delaware, in Newark. He is also a member of the IEEE Signal Processing and Vehicular Technology societies.

Life Fellow Larry J. Greenstein received the Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications for his efforts as the society’s director of journals. Greenstein is a research scientist in the Wireless Information Network Laboratory at Rutgers University in North Brunswick, N.J. He is also a member of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Fellow Abbas Jamalipour was presented with the Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings and Conferences for “continuous and outstanding contributions to the enhancement of the technical quality of Communications Society flagship conferences.” He is a professor of ubiquitous mobile networking at the University of Sydney, in Australia.

Senior Member Roberto Saracco was presented with the IEEE Communications Society/Korean Information & Communications Society Exemplary Global Service Award for his “consistent work to promote the role of the Communications Society throughout the world, emphasizing the value of communications technology and its impact on business and society.” He is director of the Future Centre, a research institute in Venice focused on the economic impact of telecommunications innovations. He is also a researcher for Telecom Italia, the country’s largest telecommunications company.

IEEE Fellow David F. Welch received the John Tyndall Award “for seminal contributions to photonics ICs and semiconductor lasers deployed in fiber-optic communication systems around the world.” Jointly sponsored by the IEEE Photonics Society and the Optical Society of America, the annual award is presented to an individual who has made strides in optical-fiber technology.

Welch is executive vice president, chief strategy officer, and cofounder of Infinera, a supplier of fiber-optic transmission systems in Sunnyvale, Calif.


IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More