Achievements: February 2016

Several IEEE members have been recognized for appointments and awards

22 February 2016

Member Chris Bastian was named senior vice president and chief technology officer of the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers.

Previously, Bastian was executive director of engineering for Comcast, a cable service provider in Philadelphia. He is a member of the IEEE Communications Society.

Life Fellow Federico Capasso and Life Member Alfred Y. Cho received the Rumford Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for contributions to the field of laser technology. Established in 1839, the Rumford Prize is one of the oldest scientific prizes in the United States. Thomas Edison and Enrico Fermi were recipients.

Capasso and Cho were honored for inventing the quantum cascade laser, widely used as a source of radiation in chemical sensing and spectroscopy. They developed the laser together while working at Bell Telephone Laboratories in the 1970s.

Capasso is now a professor of quantum electronics at Harvard. Cho is director of the semiconductor research laboratory at Bell Labs, in Murray Hill, N.J.

Member Jaison Moras has been promoted to director of electrical engineering at Cuhaci and Peterson, an architectural engineering firm in Orlando, Fla. Moras joined the company as an engineer in 2011.

He is a member of the IEEE Power & Energy Society and IEEE Young Professionals.

The following members were honored by IEEE societies.

Fellow Alan H. Gnauck received the 2016 John Tyndall Award, sponsored jointly by the IEEE Photonics Society and The Optical Society. Named for the physics pioneer, the annual award recognizes significant contributions to the field of fiber optics. Gnauck was cited for “sustained pioneering research contributions that drove commercialization of high-speed, high-capacity light-wave communication systems.”

He is a member of the technical staff at Bell Labs, in Murray Hill, N.J., where his work has been instrumental in increasing the capacity of optical transmission systems without service providers having to invest in additional fiber-optic cables. Currently, Gnauck is researching wavelength-division multiplexed systems with single-channel rates of 100 gigabytes per second or higher.

He is a member of the IEEE Photonics Society.

Life Fellow Thomas Silliman received the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society’s first Jules Cohen Outstanding Engineering Achievement Award. The award is named for the broadcast engineering pioneer who helped develop U.S. Federal Communications Commission regulations for FM radio stations within the portion of the band reserved for noncommercial educational programming.

Silliman was honored for his pioneering work in broadcast antennas, towers, and filters for radio and television. He is president of Electronics Research, a manufacturer in Chandler, Ind., of antennas, transmission lines, and other broadcast engineering equipment.

He is a member of the IEEE BTS as well as the IEEE Antennas and Propagation and IEEE Communications societies.

Learn More