The Votes Are In

IEEE Fellow John Vig wins race for 2008 President-Elect

7 March 2008
vig John Vig

IEEE Fellow John Vig is the 2008 President-Elect, having received 17 805 votes in the annual IEEE election. Senior Member Pedro Ray came in second, with 13 626 votes; Senior Member Marc Apter received 11 068 votes.

Vig begins his term as IEEE President on 1 January 2009, succeeding 2008 President Lewis Terman. Vig retired in 2000 after 36 years of service as an electronics engineer leading R&D programs at the U.S. Army Communications and Electronics Research, Development, and Engineering Center, in Fort Monmouth, N.J. He is a consultant to Systems Planning Corp., in Colts Neck, N.J., which produces electronics and computer software for U.S. government agencies.

Vig was a member of the IEEE Board of Directors in 2002, 2003, and 2005 and has held numerous volunteer positions within the institute. He was founding president of the IEEE Sensors Council.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More