Achievements: October 2013

The following IEEE members were recently recognized by other organizations and IEEE societies

28 October 2013
achieveHu Photo: UC Berkeley

Life Fellow Chenming Hu received the Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic Design Automation (EDA). The annual award is presented by the EDA Consortium, an association of companies in the EDA field. Hu was recognized for "contributions to device physics, device modeling, and device reliability that have transformed the semiconductor manufacturing and electronic design automation industries.”

Hu is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California­, Berkeley. He and his research team developed the 3D FinFET transistor structure that has led to smaller, more energy-efficient microelectronic chips.

Hu is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

achievepalermo Photo: Texas A&M University

Member Samuel Palermo received the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development award. The award recognizes junior faculty who “exemplify the role of teachers-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education, and the integration of education and research.” Palermo is an assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at Texas A&M University, in College Station.

Palermo received a US $400 000 grant that will fund a project called “Process, Voltage, and Temperature (PVT)-Tolerant CMOS Photonic Interconnect Transceiver Architectures.” The goal is to develop transceivers for photonic interconnect architectures based on ring resonator modulators and waveguide photodetectors. If successful, the transceivers will dramatically reduce the energy that these interconnect architectures demand.

Palermo is a member of the IEEE Circuits and Systems and IEEE Solid-State Circuits societies.

achievePetersen Photo: ICMAN

Life Fellow Kurt Petersen has joined the board of directors of Innovative Micro Technology, a developer of microelectromechanical systems, in Santa Barbara, Calif.

An expert in the field, Petersen has cofounded six companies, including SiTime, a manufacturer of silicon MEMS-based oscillators and clock generators; and Cepheid, a molecular diagnostics company—both in Sunnyvale, Calif.

He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

achieveAschenbrenner Photo: Fraunhofer Institute

The IEEE Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Society presented three of its members with awards.

Fellow Rolf Aschenbrenner received the society’s David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award. It recognizes contributions to the fields represented by the society through executive or managerial efforts. Aschenbrenner was recognized for more than 13 years of leadership, which includes serving as the society’s first president from Europe and extending its global technical research through collaborations and conferences.

He is head of the system integration and interconnection technologies department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration, in Berlin.

achieveLau Photo: IEEE

Fellow John H. Lau received the society’s 2013 IEEE Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Award for his contributions to “the literature in advanced solder materials, manufacturing for highly reliable electronic products, and education in advanced packaging.”

A research fellow at the Industrial Technology Research Institute, in Taiwan, Lau is a pioneer in investigating solder-joint reliability, environmentally friendly solder alternatives, and advanced interconnect techniques. He has coauthored several books on these topics, including the handbook Electronics Manufacturing With Lead-Free, Halogen-Free, and Conductive-Adhesive Materials [McGraw Hill, 2002].

Lau is also a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

achieveShangguan Photo: IMAPS

The society presented Fellow Dongkai Shangguan with its Outstanding Sustained Technical Contribution Award. He was recognized for 20 years of “technical leadership in the areas of lead-free and environmentally conscious electronics and advanced microelectronics packaging and assembly technologies from product miniaturization and functional densification.”

Shangguan is CEO of the National Center for Advanced Packaging, in Wuxi, China.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More