Member Recognitions: April 2011

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by other organizations.

7 April 2011

IEEE Fellow Nariman Farvardin was named president of the Stevens Institute of Technology, in Hoboken, N.J. Previously, he served as provost and chief academic officer at the University of Maryland, in College Park. While provost there, he led the development in 2008 of Transforming Maryland: Higher Expectations, the university's 10-year plan to attract talent, expand research programs, outreach efforts and partnerships with companies, and strengthen undergraduate and graduate programs.

Farvardin is a member of the IEEE Communications, Information Theory, and Signal Processing societies.

Two IEEE members have been appointed to new positions at the Johns Hopkins University Engineering for Professionals program, which offers part-time graduate-school education for working engineers and scientists in Baltimore.

Brian Jennison was named chair of the electrical and computer engineering program. He is a staff member of the university's Applied Physics Laboratory and an assistant supervisor of the systems group in the lab's national security technology department. His research interests include underwater acoustics, radar, and chemical detection for facilities protection. He is a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

Thomas Longstaff was named chair of the computer science, information assurance, and information systems engineering programs. He is chief scientist of the mission assurance branch in the applied information science department at the Applied Physics Laboratory. There, he works on cyber research and development, information assurance, intelligence, and global information networks.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More