Member Recognitions: July 2011

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by other organizations

27 July 2011

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by other organizations.

MR_JPL Photo: University of Illinois

Jean-Pierre Leburton, an IEEE Fellow, has been elected to the Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters, and Fine Arts—the oldest scholarly society in Belgium.

Leburton is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and an expert in nanostructure and device physics. His research focuses on transport and optical processes in semiconductor nanostructures.

He is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society

MR_JVM Photo: Royal Irish Academy

Fellow John V. McCanny received the Cunningham Medal, the Royal Irish Academy's highest honor. The academy promotes the study of sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The medal, which has been presented every three years since its creation in 1789, recognizes an academy member's outstanding contribution to scholarship and the organization's objectives.

McCanny is director of the Institute of Electronics, Communications, and Information Technology at Queen's University in Belfast, Northern Ireland. He helped develop the silicon chips used in devices such as mobile phones, digital televisions, video cameras, and DVD recorders.

He is a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

MR_NP Photo: IEEE New Hampshire Section

Senior Member Nita Patel was named the 2011 New Hampshire Engineer of the Year, the highest honor bestowed by the state's Society of Professional Engineers. Patel was recognized for her "exemplary talent, effort, and involvement in the engineering profession and the community."

She is a systems and embedded software engineering section manager at L-3 Insight Technology, in Londonderry.

She is secretary of the IEEE New Hampshire Section and treasurer of the IEEE Computer Society's New Hampshire chapter. She is also a member of The Institute's Editorial Advisory Board.

MR_AS Photo: University of Notre Dame

Fellow Alan Seabaugh received the 2011 Quantum Devices Award from Fujitsu Quantum Devices. The annual award is presented for "pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices." Seabaugh was recognized for his "seminal contributions and leadership in semiconductor devices and circuits based on quantum mechanical tunneling such as tunnel-FETs and resonant tunneling transistors."

He is a professor of electrical engineering at the University of Notre Dame, in Indiana, where his research focuses on high-performance electron devices and circuits, nanoelectronics, and microwaves.

He is editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices and is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices and Solid-State Circuits societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More