Society Recognitions: May 2009

The following people were honored by IEEE societies

6 May 2009

The IEEE-USA Board of Directors cited 18 individuals for their “professionalism and technical achievements, as well as literary contributions to public awareness and understanding of the engineering profession in the United States.”

The 12 IEEE members who were honored are Life Senior Member Jim Fancher, Member Dusty Fisher, Senior Member Donald Hill, Senior Member Evelyn Hirt, Senior Member Martin Izaak, Senior Member Richard Kolodziejczyk, Member John Nirschl, Senior Member Edward G. Perkins, Senior Member R. Sampath, Senior Member Emily Sopensky, Life Fellow Myron F. Wilson, and Fellow Dwight Woolard.

Two members shared the 2008 IEEE Taylor L. Booth Education Award from the IEEE Computer Society. James P. Cohoon and Jack W. Davidson, both professors at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, were recognized for their efforts “to transform introductory computer science education through lab-based multimedia pedagogy.”

Cohoon’s research interests include algorithms, simulated annealing, and diversity in computer science education. He earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1976 from Ramapo College, in Mahwah, N.J. He received a master’s degree in computer science in 1978 from Pennsylvania State University and a Ph.D. in 1982 from the University of Minnesota.

Davidson’s interests include computer security and run-time management of multicore-system applications. He has a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Arizona.

The IEEE Electron Devices Society gave awards to two IEEE Fellows. Robert W. Dutton received the society’s Education Award for “distinguished contributions to all levels of university education in process, device, and circuit simulations for the semiconductor industry.” Since 1971 Dutton has taught at Stanford University, where he is the director of the Integrated Circuits Laboratory. He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1966, a master’s in 1967, and Ph.D. in 1970, all in electrical engineering, from the University of California, Berkeley.

Mark R. Pinto received the 2008 J.J. Ebers Award for “contributions to widely applied semiconductor technology simulation tools.” Pinto has been a senior vice president and chief technology officer since 2004 at Applied Materials in Santa Clara, Calif. He manages the Energy and Environmental Solutions group, which focuses on developing and manufacturing solar technology. Pinto received bachelor’s degrees in electrical engineering and computer science from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in Troy, N.Y., and master’s and doctoral degrees from Stanford University.

Four IEEE members received awards from the IEEE Photonics Society.

Fellow Yasuhiko Arakawa, Senior Member Kerry Vahala, and Fellow Kam Yin Lau shared the 2009 David Sarnoff Award for “seminal contributions to improved dynamics of quantum well semiconductor lasers.”

Arakawa is a professor at the Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology and director of the Institute for Nano Quantum Information Electronics, both at the University of Tokyo. He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1975 and a Ph.D. in 1980, both in electronics engineering and both from the University of Tokyo.

Vahala is a professor of applied science, information science and technology at Caltech. He received a bachelor’s degree in 1980, a master’s in 1981, and a Ph.D. in 1985, all from Caltech.

Lau was a professor at Caltech’s electrical engineering and computer sciences department from 1990 to 2005, before retiring. He is now a professor emeritus. He received a bachelor’s degree in engineering and applied sciences and a master’s degree in electrical engineering, both in 1978, and a doctorate in electrical engineering in 1981, all from Caltech.

Member Aydogan Ozcan earned the society’s 2009 Young Investigator Award for his “pioneering contributions to nondestructive nonlinear material characterization techniques, near-field and on-chip imaging, and diagnostic systems.” Ozcan heads a bio- and nanophotonics research group at the University of California, Los Angeles. He received a bachelor’s degree in electrical and electronics engineering in 2000 from Bilkent University, in Ankara Turkey. Ozcan went on to earn a master’s in 2002 and a doctorate in 2005, from Stanford University, both in electrical engineering.

Two IEEE members received awards from the Nuclear Medical and Imaging Sciences Technical Committee of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society.

Senior Member Christopher J. Thompson won the 2008 Edward J. Hoffman Medical Imaging Scientist Award for “outstanding contributions to the field.” Thompson is a post-retirement professor at the Montreal Neurological Institute, one of the five teaching institutes of the McGill University Health Center. He retired from the institute in 2007 after 37 years of service. He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1964, a master’s in 1965, and Ph.D. in 1987, all in physics, from the University of Otago in Dunedin, New Zealand.

Member Katsuyuki “Ken” Taguchi received the 2008 Young Investigator Medical Imaging Award, which recognizes “significant and innovative technical contributions to the field of medical imaging science.” Taguchi is an assistant professor of radiology at Johns Hopkins University, in Baltimore. He received a bachelor’s degree in 1989 and master’s in 1991, both in mechanical engineering science, from the Tokyo Institute of Technology. He earned a Ph.D. in information science and electrical engineering in 2002 from the University of Tsukuba in Ibaraki, Japan.


IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More