Society Recognitions: February 2010

The following members were honored by IEEE societies

12 February 2010

The IEEE Power & Energy Society has honored James A. Kelly with its annual Leadership in Power Award. He was recognized for “promoting and supporting the engineering profession” and “for his extensive involvement with several academic institutions to encourage students to pursue careers in power engineering.”

Kelly is senior vice president of the Transmission and Distribution Business Unit at Southern California Edison of Rosemead, Calif., where he oversees the planning, engineering, and designing of the company’s electric transmission, substation, and distribution system.

He has helped California State University, Los Angeles, the University of Southern California, and other schools improve their engineering programs to be more up to date.


The Ken Kennedy Award, a joint recognition from the Association for Computing Machinery and the IEEE Computer Society, was presented to IEEE Senior Member Francine Berman. The award honors the memory of former IEEE Fellow Ken Kennedy, who was a computer scientist and professor at Rice University, in Houston. He directed the construction of software systems for programming parallel computers.

Berman was cited for her leadership in developing the U.S. cyberinfrastructure system, which supports the computing and information services offered over the Internet. She helped develop the system while director of the San Diego Supercomputer Center at the University of California, San Diego. From 2001 to 2009, she led a staff of scientists, engineers, and technologists there who were researching data-oriented science, cyberinfrastructure, and high-performance computing and applications.

She is now vice president for research at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in Troy, N.Y., and is a professor of computer science there. Her research focuses on data cyberinfrastructure and the technical, social, and policy issues involved with digital data use, management, access, and preservation.


The IEEE Photonics Society honored Fellow Larry A. Coldren and Member Jack Jewell with its Aron Kressel Award, which recognizes individuals who have made important contributions to optoelectronic-device technology. Both are members of the society. They were cited for contributions to developing low-threshold, vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers. VCSELs are semiconductor laser diodes that are used in short-reach data communications, optical-fiber data transmission, analog broadband signal transmission, laser printers, and biological tissue analysis.

Coldren is a professor of optoelectronics and sensors at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and director of the university’s Optoelectronics Technology Center. During the late 1980s he developed efficient vertical-cavity multiple-quantum-well modulators, one of the essential components for dense optical interconnects that led to innovative VCSEL designs. In 1990 he helped found Optical Concepts (now Optical Communication Products), in Chatsworth, Calif., to manufacture the lasers.

Jewell is a consultant on optics, lasers, communications, and solar energy. While working as a researcher at Bell Labs, in Holmdel, N.J., between 1984 and 1991, he developed submicron-sized semiconductor optical devices to perform logic operations, targeting use in all-optical computers. His work led to a major breakthrough in VCSEL technology. He left Bell Labs in 1991 to help found Vixel Corp. of Bothell, Wash., the first company to commercialize VCSEL technology.


Graduate Student Member Can Bayram received an IEEE Photonics Society fellowship. The society’s Graduate Student Fellowship Program was established to provide fellowships to outstanding student members of the society who are pursuing graduate degrees in the society’s fields of interest. Bayram received a US $5000 honorarium.

A Ph.D. candidate at Northwestern University, Chicago, Bayram works as a research assistant at the university’s Center for Quantum Devices. His research interests include semiconductor device design and simulation, material growth and characterization, and device processing, packaging, and measurement.

Bayram is a member of the IEEE Electron Devices and Photonics societies.


Fellow Giok-Djan Khoe received the IEEE Photonics Society’s 2009 Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an individual contribution of service that has significantly benefited the society’s members. Khoe, a member of the society, received the award “for exemplary vision and leadership, enabling sustained growth and broadened involvement of the Photonics Society, particularly with student members and international activities.”

Khoe is a professor of electro-optical communications at the University of Technology, in Eindhoven, the Netherlands.


The IEEE Power Engineering Society presented Fellow Donald W. Novotny with its 2009 Nikola Tesla Award. He was cited for his contributions to the analysis of AC machine dynamic behavior and performance in adjustable-speed drives.

Novotny has been a professor of electrical and computer engineering since 1961 at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, where he focuses on electromechanical energy conversion and theory and control of synchronous machines. He was the first to apply the European approach of using time-domain complex variables for motor transient behavior in the United States.

Novotny is a member of the IEEE Industry Applications and Power Electronics societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More