Society Recognitions: November 2010

The following members were recognized by IEEE societies

5 November 2010

Fellow James W. Demmel received the 2010 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award for contributions to “computational science leadership in creating adaptive, innovative, high-performance linear algebra software.”

Demmel is a professor of mathematics and computer science at the University of California, Berkeley. During the past two decades there, he has developed algorithms and mathematical software covering linear algebra, scientific computing, and computer architecture and engineering. He is known for his work on LAPACK (linear algebra package) and ScaLAPACK (scalable LAPACK) software used for high-performance computers and shared- and distributed-memory parallel computers.

He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society.


Life Fellow David Kuck received the second annual Association for Computing Machinery–IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award for his “pioneering contributions to compiler technology and parallel computing, the profound impact of his research on industry, and the widespread and long-lasting influence of his teaching and mentoring.” Named after the founder of the computer science program at Rice University, in Houston, the Kennedy award recognizes contributions to programming and productivity in computing, as well as community service and mentoring.

Kuck, a researcher at Intel’s Software and Services Group, is director of its Parallel and Distributed Solutions Division, which develops software for programs in multicore and cluster environments. He taught computer science and electrical and computer engineering from 1965 to 1993 at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

He is a member of IEEE Women in Engineering.


Senior Member Alexander Schuchinsky was a recipient of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society’s 2010 Microwave Prize for his paper “Electro-Thermal Theory of Intermodulation Distortion in Lossy Microwave Components.” He coauthored the paper with three researchers from North Carolina State University, in Raleigh. It explores passive intermodulation, which causes signal distortion and increased noise levels, and limits the efficiency of communication systems and ultra-fast digital circuits.

Schuchinsky is a researcher at the Institute of Electronics, Communications, and Information Technology at Queen’s University in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

He is a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation and IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques societies.

Senior Member Daniel Tazartes received the 2010 Pioneer Award from the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society. He was recognized for his work in the development of inertial instruments and algorithms applied to today’s navigation systems for ships, aircraft, submarines, guided missiles, and spacecraft. The award honors contributions to aerospace and electronic systems made at least 20 years before its presentation and still in use.

Tazartes is director of advanced technology in the engineering department at Northrop Grumman’s Navigation Systems Division, in Woodland Hills, Calif.

He is a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society.


The IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society recently honored three of its members with awards.

Fellow Ya-Qiu Jin was presented with the Education Award “in recognition of his significant educational contributions to geoscience and remote sensing.” A professor of information science and engineering at Fudan University, in Shanghai, Jin is director of the school’s Key Laboratory of Wave Scattering and Remote Sensing Information. He is also principal scientist for the China State Key Basic Research Project of the Ministry of National Science and Technology. In that role, he leads China’s remote sensing research program.

He is also a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation societies.

Senior Member Tom I. Lukowski received the society’s Outstanding Service Award. Lukowski is a researcher at Defense Research and Development, in Ottawa, an agency of the Canadian Department of National Defense, where he focuses on the characterization, analysis, and exploitation of synthetic aperture radar. Such systems are used in remote sensing and mapping applications of Earth and other planets.

Lukowski is an associate editor of IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Letters.

Fellow Jakob J. van Zyl received the society’s Distinguished Achievement Award for “contributions to the field of radar polarimetry, radar interferometry, and airborne and space-borne synthetic aperture radars.” Van Zyl is director of astronomy and physics at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, in Pasadena, Calif. His research interests include radar system engineering and measuring soil moisture with radar. A professor of electrical engineering at the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, he lectures at Cal Tech.

He is also a member of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems societies.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More