Society Recognitions

These IEEE members recently were recognized for their work by IEEE societies

7 April 2011

Senior Member Ron J. Farquharson received the IEEE Excellence Award from the IEEE Standards Board for his work on a smart-grid standard. He led the team that developed the IEEE Standard for Electric Power Systems Communications—Distributed Network Protocol, IEEE Std 1815-2010. Released last year, the standard enables interoperability between communications devices and systems and is widely used by electric utilities and other businesses involved with energy.

Farquharson is a principal consultant for EnerNex, a provider of engineering and consulting services in Knoxville, Tenn. He works with utility clients on smart grid-related projects. He joined the company in 2006 as a consultant for its smart-grid engineering team. He is also a consultant to the Smart Grid Interoperability Panel of the U.S. Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Farquharson is a member of the IEEE Power & Energy Society.

The IEEE Power Electronics Society honored three members.

Fellow John M. Miller was awarded the IEEE Power Electronics Distinguished Service Award, which honors an individual's dedication and contributions to the society. He is technical advisor to the CEO of Maxwell Technologies, a developer and manufacturer of energy storage and power delivery products in San Diego.

Miller is a member of the society and served as editor in chief of its newsletter for six years. He also is a member of the IEEE Industry Applications Society.

Senior Member Akio Nakagawa received the society's IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award for the development of non-latch-up insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs). The award is dedicated to the memory of Newell, a professor of power electronics at the Westinghouse Research and Development Center and at Carnegie Mellon University, both in Pittsburgh. The IGBTs, which Nakagawa invented in 1984, switch power at high speed and are now used in hybrid vehicles, air conditioners, and other devices.

Nakagawa is a principal of the Nakagawa Consulting Office, in Japan. He was a Chief Fellow of Toshiba Semiconductor, in Tokyo, from 2005 to 2009.

He is also a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

Member Maryam Saeedifard received the society's Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award, which recognizes achievements in the field of power electronics by an engineer younger than 35. The award is named after a former associate professor at Georgia Tech who was treasurer of the society.

Saeedifard, 34, is an assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University, in West Lafayette, Ind., where she researches the modeling, control, and design of high-power converters, high-voltage direct-current transmission systems, and applications of electronics in power systems. Saeedifard is an editor for the IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy.

She is a member of the Power Electronics Society as well as the IEEE Power & Energy Society.

IEEE membership offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities for those who share a common interest in technology. If you are not already a member, consider joining IEEE and becoming part of a worldwide network of more than 400,000 students and professionals.

Learn More